NEW FOOD FRIDAY FLASH – BOBOTIE

15 Jan

I was tossing out old magazines and I stopped short when I saw this recipe in a magazine called Journey. I don’t often see a recipe that comes from South Africa but when I saw this one for Bobotie, I knew I had to post it in my blog. I’m not sure of the pronunciation because I’ve seen it pronounced several ways on the Internet, but I’m going with “Bobootie.”  South Africans enjoy spicy Eastern flavors, including Indian curries and Malayan spices, Dutch and English foods, and traditional African dishes. This Bobotie is one of South Africa’s most-loved dishes. It’s a combination of sweet and savory served casserole style. Note that there are no vegetables in this recipe, only fruits! Maybe your children will like it! In any case, it’s my choice for this month’s New Food Friday Flash.

 

Ingredients

2 large onions

2 Tablespoons butter

1 thick slice white bread

1 cup milk

2 lbs ground lamb or beef

2 ½ Tablespoons strong curry powder

1 teaspoon turmeric

2 tablespoons apricot jam

¼ cup sliced almonds

¼ cup lemon juice (or vinegar)

2 teaspoons salt

½ teaspoon white pepper

¼ cup seedless raisins

1 green apple, grated (or substitute carrots)

10 dried apricots, soaked & diced (or ¼ cup raisins)

4 dried bay or lemon leaves

2 eggs

 

Directions

Pre-heat the oven to 350F. lightly fry the onions in the butter. Soak the bread in half the milk and mash with a fork.

 

Mix the meat with all of the ingredients except for the eggs, the rest of the milk and the bay or lemon leaves.

 

Put the mixture in an oven proof dish. Push the bay leaves into the top of the mixture. Cover and bak for about 45-60 minutes, depending on size of dish.

 

Beat the eggs and remaining milk together and pour over the meat. Slightly lift it to allow the egg to run into the bobotie.

 

Bake until brown on top (about 15 – 20 minutes.

 

Garnish with additional bay leaves.  Serves 8 – 10.

 

This recipe is a great way to get more fruit into your diet. Traditionally this is served with yellow rice made with rice, turmeric, raisins, almonds, and cloves. A tasty, different meal that is very good for your health!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

9 Responses to “NEW FOOD FRIDAY FLASH – BOBOTIE”

  1. mikeakin1 January 17, 2016 at 10:33 am #

    I’m still trying to pronounce it and, you should here the language I created!! lol

    Like

  2. Helen January 16, 2016 at 2:52 pm #

    I guess the dish would be sweet – not eaten fruit in this way myself but it certainly sounds interesting.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau January 23, 2016 at 1:58 pm #

      I have a confession to make. I didn’t make this yet! I’ve always made the dishes I’ve written about before I posted them, but this sounded so nutritious and different, I decided to post it. I have the ground lamb in the freezer and the apricots in the pantry, I just haven’t gotten around to making it. My car died on Tuesday just as I was passing over railroad tracks. I was able to coast to a nearby business driveway. A tow truck to it to my mechanic who had it for 4 days because he couldn’t figure out what was wrong with it! I finally got it back yesterday and almost kissed it! I missed my car so much!!!! lol!

      Like

      • Helen January 23, 2016 at 2:57 pm #

        Gosh, what a nightmare. I know what you mean about being carless. And looks like you had a lucky escape.

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau January 28, 2016 at 12:36 pm #

          Although it was a big inconvenience, it could have been a lot worse. Now my car runs great and I found another way to get to my destination without going over any railroad tracks so there was a rainbow after the “storm”!

          Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

