NEW FOOD FRIDAY FLASH – BLACK TEA SHAMPOO

21 Aug

As I wrote about in last month’s New Food Friday Flash, I would be writing more about foods to put on your body and not just in your body for good health. This month’s post is for a recipe for a great shampoo that you can make yourself with simple ingredients. You can find these ingredients in a health food store or online at Amazon.com for example. I was able to find all the ingredients at my local Meijer supermarket and that is why I selected it for this month’s New Food Friday Flash.

 

Black Tea Shampoo Recipe

1 cup distilled water

6 bags black tea (regular tea)

½ cup liquid unscented, baby mild Castile soap

1 Tablespoon vegetable glycerin

10 drops Ylang essential oil

 

Directions

Boil water and steep tea bags 30 minutes.

6 Black Tea Bags

Boil 6 Tea Bags

Cool. Combine with remaining ingredients. Put in a clean, bottle (an old washed, shampoo bottle works well). Label the bottle. Shake bottle before each use. Shampoo, and let sit in hair for 2 minutes. Rinse. You will not get as much lather with this shampoo as with store-bought shampoos. Condition as usual.

 

I chose not to use Ylang essential oil and instead used Peppermint essential oil. The Peppermint oil has more uses. Many times these essential oils are interchangeable – but not always! Lavender essential oil could also be used in this shampoo as it is beneficial in fighting dandruff and stimulates hair growth.

 

NOTE: Black Tea shampoo is for brunettes. Blondes can substitute chamomile tea for the black tea as it has a natural blonding effect. However, I did not test the chamomile myself.

Chamomile flowers

Chamomile Flowers

 

I created a list of all the recipes I thought I could use from all the books I had read. I also selected ingredients that were most often used. I did not want to spend a fortune making my own shampoos, conditioners, laundry detergents, body lotions, cleansers, bath soaks, makeup removers, lip balms, insect repellents, car washes, tub and tile cleaners, window washes, and a few others! This was research I wanted to do to find a way to avoid allergy-causing ingredients that manufacturers use in their products. Their ingredients also cost us more. In theory, making your own products should cost less in the long run.

 

One of the benefits of using this shampoo that was not mentioned in any of the books I read is that it makes your hair more manageable. When I use it, I don’t use a conditioner afterwards. My hair has never looked so good! I don’t curl it; I don’t blow dry it. If that doesn’t make it all worth it, then I don’t know what does. How’s that for an unsolicited testimonial?

 

As much as I like this particular shampoo recipe, I have found another that I like that contains the juice of a grapefruit. As soon as I finish this Black Tea Shampoo, I will be making the grapefruit shampoo. If it is as good, I will be reporting back here to you!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

 

11 Responses to “NEW FOOD FRIDAY FLASH – BLACK TEA SHAMPOO”

  1. Helen August 22, 2015 at 6:52 pm #

    I have given up shampoo but your black tea sounds tempting. It will be interesting to see how grapefruit shampoo goes for you, too.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 24, 2015 at 12:54 pm #

      Funny, I was just thinking of you the other day! I liked the grapefruit shampoo too. Now I am using yet another combination that I found online. It has rosemary essential oil and peppermint essential oil. I’m going to stick with this one because rosemary essential oil has all kinds of benefits for the hair and scalp such as fighting dandruff, hair loss, etc. Also interesting is that since I have drastically cut my hair and stopped coloring it, I am losing a lot less hair! Two hairs per day compared to 10 on my sink and zero to two hairs compared to lots in the shower! I’ve never read anything like that anywhere. It might also have to do with the weight of my hair: shorter length, less weight? I don’t know but I’m happy about it! Good to hear from you!

      Like

      • Helen August 24, 2015 at 12:59 pm #

        That’s both interesting news and a fantastic result from your shampoo. I wouldn’t like to suggest a reason except that your scalp must be healthier.

        Anyway, yes, I haven’t seen your posts for a while. I subscribed through WP to a blog which reblogs tens of posts a day. They are interesting and have put me in touch with many other interesting bloggers but the downside is that I am lost in a sea of news. If I’m not careful, I won’t have time to do anything off-line!

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau August 27, 2015 at 1:29 pm #

          I learned a lot about my scalp. Scalp is skin and that made me think! I hope it’s healthier. Helen, I’m sorry to say that now I only respond or comment when someone has commented first. I don’t know how you have the time to read other blogs! These days I am very busy with my house, doing all the things that I have put off for so long! Today I will finish putting up gutter covers on my house so that hopefully I won’t be cleaning gutters anymore! I fixed both my toilets and my dripping faucet in the kitchen and bathroom. I’ve got 10 more things to do & some of them require hiring people because I can’t do them myself. The weather has been very cooperative and like I always say, I’m a slave to the weather. We’ve been having temps in the 70″s all week – my kind of weather and it finally stopped raining! Yaaay! How is your garden coming along? I grew San Marzano tomatoes this year and oh, that reminds me – I need to look up “blight”. Hold on a second while I look. This site: http://www.longislandhort.cornell.edu/vegpath/photos/lateblight_tomato.htm shows a lot of photos of tomatoes with blight. Scroll down to see the tomatoes that look like your photos. Some of my tomatoes have blossom end rot. This site http://bonnieplants.com/library/conquer-blossom-end-rot/ suggests that too much nitrogen may cause the problem because it ties up the calcium in the soil chemistry. I think that’s what I did: over-fertilized. Anyway, I hope these sites help you with your problem too. Otherwise, I am really enjoying my San Marzano tomatoes roasted! The flavor is intense! stay in touch!

          Like

          • Helen August 27, 2015 at 1:43 pm #

            Yes, I think part of the problem could too much nitrogen on the tomato plant with the funny ends/skin. I was putting used coffee grinds on the plant like crazy!

            Anyway, thanks for taking the time and trouble to find the links for me. I know what you mean about time and blogs. I don’t have the time to read everything. And on my phone (perhaps on the web, too?) I can only go back a couple of days, possibly because my feed is so full of reblogged posts, as I was explaining before. This means I miss things, inevitably. Ie I tend to do as you do in the end, unless I can see a post in my feed which either is pertinent to my needs or is someone who I have genuine interactions with.

            I would count you, Marcella, as one of those people. Of course, sometimes a post is interesting but I don’t comment as I feel inadequate to the task. Or it is late at night and I really should have been in bed hours earlier!

            Hope you get all the work you intend done. I too am in the throes of DIY and such like, while the weather is favourable. After my daughter’s piano lesson tonight the sofa is going to be taken out of the house and put on the drive for collection tomorrow. Then at last we will have room for a piano. Hurray!

            Like

            • Marcella Rousseau September 8, 2015 at 11:57 am #

              Well, I got some of my stuff done, and then I got sick. I don’t know if it’s the flu or allergies. Today is my first day at the library to use the computers and I wasn’t sure I should even go today because I’m still coughing and my eyes are watering, etc., etc. To top it off, my son emailed me and he wants to stay at my house for a few days since he doesn’t have a place to live anymore. He puts everything off to the last minute without regard for anyone. I only have one working sink at the moment in the kitchen. Why would I want company NOW?! Ugh! Sorry I’m not in a better mood. I’m tired of drinking tea and soup. But I’m glad you will have room for a piano, that is a nice feeling. Thank you for your kind comments. Wish I felt better to give you a better reply ; – (

              Like

              • Helen September 8, 2015 at 5:14 pm #

                I’m sorry you are both ill and about to have your son descend on you! Perhaps he can help sort out your plumbing?

                Like

              • Marcella Rousseau September 15, 2015 at 12:21 pm #

                Thank you. It’s a bad allergy season here and they are saying it’s going to get worse. Ugh! My son doesn’t have the patience for that sort of thing. I had to be put on antibiotics but I am doing better today. I had bronchitis and seem to get it about every 10 years. My neighbor doesn’t mow his lawn for months and he’s got weeds and goldenrod growing all over and the wind blows the seeds into my yard so it doesn’t help the situation. I’m going to be spraying today when I get home. I wish I had more responsible neighbors. Anyway, I hope to get to my sink issue today because I would sure love to have a functioning bathroom sink! What can I say, into each life, a little rain must fall! ; – )

                Like

              • Helen September 15, 2015 at 12:52 pm #

                It is a shame your neighbour lets his lawn produce pollen which irritates you. But I hope your sink will be mended today!

                Like

              • Marcella Rousseau September 17, 2015 at 12:07 pm #

                Thank you! I found a flexible part for the sink pipe and turned on the faucets. Leaks! I had to quit at 8:00 pm last night because I was exhausted from tightening screws and getting nowhere. I’ll test it again today. If there are still leaks, I’ll need to buy more new parts. When this is all done, I’ll publish photos of my new sink and faucet! ; – )

                Like

              • Helen September 18, 2015 at 4:06 am #

                Sounds a challenging job. I hope you won’t need to buy new parts!

                Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

