New Food Friday Flash – Crystallized Ginger

16 Jan

I have come across a few recipes using crystallized ginger and I became curious about this product. I found a jar of diced crystallized ginger in the spice aisle at Meijer but it was too expensive. Around Thanksgiving, Meijer put out their biggest display of candied fruits that I’ve ever seen. Among them was a small container of crystallized ginger.Crystalized Ginger

The pieces were big and looked delicious! $2.99 for 4 oz. You know me, I couldn’t resist. Plus, one of my favorite cookies, when I have a cookie or two, is Ginger Snaps. Unfortunately, they just don’t make the ginger snaps that I like in these parts! So, lucky for you, I decided to make my own using crystallized ginger. Two recipes came inside the container: ginger snaps and ginger bars. I opted for the ginger snaps. That is how this post got selected for this month’s New Food Friday Flash.

 

But how did cookies get to be on a blog that purports to be about getting and maintaining good health? Give me a minute; I’ll come up with something.

 

OK, this cookie recipe calls for molasses. I use blackstrap molasses and it’s extremely high in iron. I don’t think there is anything out there that contains more iron. The recipe also calls for an egg. Eggs get a bad rap. They are good for you, especially Eggland’s Best eggs which I always use because they contain more vitamins and minerals than in regular eggs with double the Omega 3. Also, ginger is good for you. According to WebMD, Ginger contains chemicals that may reduce nausea and inflammation. Researchers believe the chemicals work primarily in the stomach and intestines, but they may also work in the brain and nervous system to control nausea. Click the link to learn more. The recipe also calls for cinnamon which adds sweetness and is good for you. There are no preservatives or unpronounceable ingredients in this homemade cookie recipe as you will undoubtedly find in a store shelf cookie.

 

Satisfied? Good! Here is the recipe:

 

Ginger Snaps

¾ cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

¼ cup molasses

1 egg

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 cups flour

½ teaspoon ground cloves

2 teaspoons cinnamon

½ teaspoon salt

4 oz. Paradise Crystallized Ginger, chopped coarsely (came with a 50¢ coupon)

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 375°. Combine softened butter, sugar, molasses and egg, beat well.

Ginger Snap Batter

Ginger Snap Cookie Batter

Add chopped crystallized ginger pieces.

Diced Crystalized Ginger

Crystalized Ginger Diced

Mix dry ingredients together, add to wet mixture, mix well.

Crystalized Ginger added to Batter

Crystalized Ginger added to Batter

Chill for 1 hour. Form into 1” balls, roll in sugar, and place on greased cookie sheet, 2” apart.

Cookie Balls Rolled in Sugar

Cookie Balls Rolled in Sugar

Bake for 8-10 minutes.

Cookie Balls on Tray

Cookie Balls on Tray

Makes 36 cookies.

Ginger Snap Cookies

Ginger Snap Cookies Cooling

I think they taste great dunked in tea with honey and lemon.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 Responses to “New Food Friday Flash – Crystallized Ginger”

  1. P. C. Zick February 1, 2015 at 11:01 pm #

    Do the pieces of ginger melt or do you have the texture of them?

    Like

  2. Gerard Villanueva January 25, 2015 at 2:07 pm #

    I never thought about using them to make cookies! I got some crystallized ginger yesterday and have been enjoying it as a small after meal “dessert” snack. I never really appreciated their flavor before. They work well for me to stave off that sweet tooth. I’m keeping it in my list of dried fruit to have on hand. They had two varieties in the bulk section. One had citric acid while the other didn’t. I tried the one without but don’t know what flavor or health difference there is between them. Thanks for bringing it up in “New Food Friday”!
    I like ginger snap cookies but would have to figure out a vegan version.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau January 26, 2015 at 12:15 pm #

      I didn’t know you were vegan. How long have you been vegan? I think citric acid just helps to preserve the ginger. It is naturally occurring especially in citrus fruits so I wouldn’t think it would be harmful. It enhances flavor. However, it can also be manmade and when it is, it is made from a mold, not fruit. Here is a very interesting link with more information. http://www.aaaai.org/ask-the-expert/citric-acid-mold-allergy.aspx
      Thank you for the comment. Let me know if you try the citrus acid version and if there is any taste difference. I find sugar snap peas good for staving off a sweet tooth!

      Like

      • Gerard Villanueva January 31, 2015 at 3:15 pm #

        I wish sugar snap peas could do the trick for me! I’ve really developed a taste for crystalized ginger (I just ate my last little chunk) so I intend to try the kind with citric acid. I’ve been on a vegan diet for about 6 months. I’ve been vegetarian for much longer and have been one off and on for much of my life. Notice I have not included meat, poultry, or fish on any of my recipes. The last one to include dairy was last March. It has taken conscience effort to eat only vegan foods. I find myself reaching for items made with dairy like some breads and most desserts before I stop myself. How do you stop years of automatic response?! I’ve been eating lots lentils, chickpeas, beans, and whole grains to make up for the protein. Calcium is another concern and have been reading up on good sources for that. I know it’s a little more complicated than just making up for protein as I’ve been finding out. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
        Thanks for sending me the above link!

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau February 3, 2015 at 12:26 pm #

          Now that you mention it, I do realize that you didn’t have meat, poultry, or fish on your blog. So was this change recommended by your doctor? It is hard to make a change! You should check into the website caloriecount.com. I think you might be able to set up your page as a vegan. I recall that they have several selections for various “diets”. It will help you adjust to the change. Try clicking on Goals, Nutrients Specific. I recall they had all the popular diets that you could select when you are starting out on their site. I have a lot of information on my blog about calcium. Just type in the word calcium at the top in the Search field and hopefully all my posts on calcium will come up. Almond milk is a good source of calcium and Total cereal. Edamame (love them) is also a good source. They make a great snack with a bit of salt.

          Like

  3. mikeakin1 January 16, 2015 at 10:26 pm #

    They had to taste good!!

    Like

  4. ChristinaWithCaramel January 16, 2015 at 1:22 pm #

    I absolutely love ginger. These look beautiful 🙂

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

