Lists Help You Not to Forget

22 Oct

Did you know that pilots learning to fly must always use a checklist to avoid catastrophes each and every time they prepare for a flight? Lists are not just for housewives! Lists have become so popular that now there is even a show called The List. If you thought the grocery list was the only list you needed before leaving home, think again! Doesn’t it seem like these days there are more things we need to remember? Passwords, cell phones, keys, water bottles, “the list” is endless. That is the reason I’ve written this post: to remind us to write lists. Lists help us remember what we need to do.

 

Specifically in this post, I’m writing about an exercise list but this post can help you to write other important lists too. For example, there was nothing more aggravating than when I forgot my lock for a gym locker after I stashed my clothes in a locker at my health club. I’ve forgotten other things too like my flip-flops which I like to wear in the shower. Forgetting these items meant that the change of clothes and the towels, etc. I lugged in my bag were for naught and I had to go home. Once home, I had no intention of going back to the gym that day so it was a waste of time. Don’t you hate when that happens?

 

After I had forgotten items a number of times, I resolved that the last time was going to be THE last time I forgot anything when I headed for the gym.

 

Write a List

For an exercise list it’s so simple. Just write down all the things you need for your workout on a list. Keep the list near your gym bag or at a place where you will see it. It took me several days to write my list because it’s surprising how many things I need to remember to bring with me!

 

My List

Hair dryer

2 bath towels

1 small towel (for when I work out on the strength machines)

Plastic hair cover (for when I don’t want to wash my hair)

Flip-flops

Water bottle

Plastic bag (for wet towels, sweaty clothes)

Clean change of clothes

Tissues

Barrette and bobby pins, comb, hairbrush, lipstick (I keep these in a small zippered purse inside my purse)

Shampoo & cream rinse

Exercise pants

ID tag (I wear it around my neck to check in)

Car keys

 

Where to Keep Your List

I keep my list on the kitchen table. You may want to tape it to the door you use when you leave the house.

 

Tip

The key for this list to work is that you must mentally or out loud check off each item before you go out the door. I find saying it out loud is best. The most likely time you will accidentally skip over an item on your list is when you are in a rush, so be advised!

 

You may want to add or subtract from my list when you write your own list, but trust me, this is a no-fail system to a happy workout at the gym. The goal is to be relaxed after working out at the gym which is beneficial to your health, not frustrated because you forgot something and had to go home!

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

 

What are your thoughts on this post?

