Roundabout, Not to be Confused with a Roustabout

15 Oct

Recently I wrote a post about pedestrians being killed by hit-and-run drivers. This brought up a conversation regarding Roundabouts.  In case you are not familiar with them, they are relatively new ways to divert and direct traffic without stop signs or traffic lights. People seem to be having problems getting used to them.  At night, drivers unfamiliar with the area, tend to drive straight through them instead of circling around them which is what you’re supposed to do.

Drivers are reckless in other ways too on roundabouts. They overtake drivers in 2-lane roundabouts. They enter the roundabout instead of waiting for a driver who is already in the circle and who therefore has the right of way.

I was confused myself about these new, modern wonders  because of what the other drivers were doing and the Bureau of Motor Vehicles doesn’t  require mandatory refresher classes so, I did what I always do when I need information: I google it.

I found a PDF brochure explaining the rules of the roundabout I use. Take time to read the link.  You may find out something you didn’t know about them.  For example, when exiting a roundabout, you should put on your turn signal. I’ve yet to see anyone use their turn signal while exiting a roundabout. I’m the only one I know who does it and I do it to let the other drivers near me know that I’m going to exit so we don’t clip each other!

In fact, after the experience I had yesterday with this particular roundabout, I decided to take the optional right turn lane at the roundabout to avoid the roundabout altogether.  I was running later than usual yesterday so traffic was at a peak and drivers were whizzing around the roundabout without regard for life or limb. So, this morning in taking the optional right turn lane route, I discovered that I can eliminate waiting for one traffic light on the way to my destination. Yay! Who needs a roundabout?! They aren’t any safer than traffic lights or stop signs! They don’t seem to be any less expensive either. At a cost of $1.4 million to build a roundabout, it seems doubtful that it saves energy and resources. http://www.indystar.com/story/news/local/hendricks-county/2014/07/27/quite-carmel-avon-rolls-roundabouts/13192109/ Read on!

Two women in separate car crashes were injured at the roundabout that I use; one seriously. According to an article in the Indianapolis newspaper “Car crashes spike in the first year as people learn to use them.” 

This is the land of the Indy 500 and NASCAR. The word “slow” is not in the Hoosier dictionary. I’d rather have a delay at a signal as I am not in that much of a hurry. In my opinion, we’d be better off with a traffic light instead of a 2-lane roundabout. I’m ok with 1-lane roundabouts but not the 2-lane type. How about you?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

What are your thoughts on this post?

