Top Exercise Excuses and Their Solutions

10 Oct

There are many excuses (or obstacles if you prefer) that can influence whether or not a person exercises. These obstacles are dependent on location, what injuries someone might have at the moment, motivation level, having children, age, and availability of time to exercise.

Where You Live

I am fortunate in that where I live now, I have the option to use any one of several health clubs. I also live near a few parks with trails. This wasn’t always the case. If you don’t have access to a health club or trails where you live, consider walking or working out where you work.

When I was working full time, I started an exercise group during lunchtime at a company where I worked. When I worked at another company, I walked at a trail nearby. I walked during my lunch hour. Keep your eyes and ears open for similar possibilities to exercise during work hours.

Injuries

Mild injuries don’t have to stop you from exercising. Exercise helps circulation and can keep you from becoming depressed while you’re on the sidelines. Continuing to exercise prevents you from gaining weight. I have an old injury in my right foot that flares up now and then. When it flares up, I don’t do any kickboxing or walking exercises. Instead, I workout with DVDs that use stretch bands. Or I do upper body conditioning. But if you have serious or long-lasting pain, see a doctor.

Motivation Level

I am well-motivated to exercise. It has become a habit. Exercise makes me feel good and is therefore reinforcing. Exercise allows me to eat whatever I want – and I love to eat! Don’t get me wrong. I don’t eat junk food, but I do allow myself to cheat. Otherwise, I am very health conscious and follow the Mediterranean diet.

Even so, there are days when I’ve got all my gear (towels, water bottle, change of clothes, shampoo, etc.) packed and ready to go and I’ll be standing in front of my doorway with no motivation to walk through it. Sometimes I can force myself to go; sometimes I can’t. If you can force yourself to go you will feel good about it later. I always do. If you can’t, just promise yourself to exercise a little bit harder the next time. Then make sure you follow through. I make sure I do, otherwise the guilt will get to me!

Having Children

After giving birth, my weight crept up to 180 lbs and I had a difficult time bringing it down. Raising children definitely interferes with exercising. Once your child is in school or daycare, you can work out again if you want to wait that long.

I had a very physically fit neighbor who beat me at tennis when she was six months pregnant! She would take her toddler in a stroller and go walking for hours. When her toddler became old enough to walk, he would hold on to the stroller while his baby sister would sit in the stroller as mom pushed. This little boy had calf muscles like you wouldn’t believe! You’re never too young to start exercising, and it’s never too late to be a good role model for your children.

Age

When I was a kid, I climbed trees and ran up and down eight flights of stairs all day with my friends. (We lived on the fourth floor of an apartment building with no elevator.) In my twenties and thirties I played tennis. After I injured my hand playing tennis (not with my neighbor), I decided to join the health club world, and say goodbye to tennis. Experts tell us that aging doesn’t have to interfere with exercising for good health. I don’t let my age prevent me from exercising. You shouldn’t either.

Availability of Time

Availability of time ebbs and flows. When I worked during the day full-time, if I couldn’t exercise during working hours like lunchtime, I exercised after work. You may feel tired after work, but once you get started exercising, your body will reinvigorate itself. When you’re done, you’ll feel relaxed.

There are many exercise DVDs available now for home use when time issues are an obstacle to exercise. Some of these exercise DVDs are broken down into 10-minute routines. Everybody has 10 minutes to spare. If you do 10 minutes before breakfast, 10 before lunch, and 10 before dinner, you will have done 30 minutes in one day.

Nothing in your life is as important as your health. Take the time to exercise, if you don’t, you may find you’re running out of time sooner than you thought.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One Response to “Top Exercise Excuses and Their Solutions”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What Motivates People to Exercise? | For Your Good Health - October 25, 2014

    […] are more ways that I motivate myself. Click the link, you won’t regret […]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

