Martha Stewart’s Homekeeping Handbook – The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home – REVIEW

9 Oct

Martha Stewart never does anything half way. The Martha Stewart’s Homekeeping Handbook – The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home was started by Martha but it apparently took on a life of its own. So she formed a team of people who helped her withΒ  researching and adding their own homekeeping experiences to produce the ultimate of all homekeeping handbooks.

 

The copyright of the handbook is 2006, so as you might guess, there are a few tips that are outdated. There are 744 pages which makes it a hefty book and I guarantee that you will learn a few things reading it! It’s a very readable book.

 

Martha and her team divided the book in an interesting way. From page 31 to page 477 it’s broken down room by room. The rooms are as follows:

 

Kitchen

Dining room

Living room

Home office

Library

Entryways, stairs, and hallways

Bedroom

Bathroom

Closets

Laundry room

Utility spaces

Outdoor spaces

 

So, if you only want information on everything kitchen, you could browse the kitchen chapter.

 

She doesn’t stop at room domesticity. The next section covers Throughout The House which is further divided by Routine cleaning such as dusting, sweeping, mopping, etc. then Periodic Maintenance such as Floors and Floor Coverings, Ceilings, Walls and Woodwork, etc.

 

If that wasn’t enough, the next section covers Comfort and Safety. This includes Lighting, Electricity, Pest Control, Water systems, Home security, and more.

 

The next section covers Moving. After that is a section called Materials Guide. That would be diamonds, lucite, pewter, taxidermy, tortoiseshell, terra cotta, vinyl records…she didn’t leave any stone unturned. She didn’t include stones per se, but she did include onyx which well, actually is a stone!

 

Finally, she included a Reference section.

 

Martha is nothing if not thorough and I think that’s one of the things I like about her. I also like that you can rely on her advice. She has some amazing tips and hints that I’ve never heard of. For example, it is best to store paint cans upside down (after sealing them carefully) so that the paint will form an airtight seal around the lid. I was very interested in her paint insights since I have been doing painting projects around my house recently. So far I’ve painted a coat closet and the trim around my garage door and back door. I’d like to do a lot more but if I start thinking about it, I’ll feel overwhelmed!

 

There are many photos in Martha’s handbook and she is not shy in showing photos of her own brand such as Martha Stewart latex paint. All photos are in black and white and are of high quality.

 

You can find the most basic help such as How to Wash Dishes by Hand, or Sewing on a Button to more complex help such as How to Fix a Compression Faucet or How to Replace a Wall Switch. Anything electrical has always been something I’ve shied away from but with Martha’s step by step instruction…I might be tempted!

 

My only criticism of this book is her “cleaning calendar.” If I cleaned all the things she suggests you clean daily, weekly, monthly, and seasonally, I would probably die of exhaustion and would never need to exercise! Maybe these are the things I should be doing when I wake up at 3:00 am and can’t get back to sleep! That would be the only way I could fit in all the cleaning. Other than that, I highly recommend Martha’s handbook. It would make a great gift at a bridal shower or for a young person getting their first apartment if you don’t mind spending $45.00.

5 stars *****

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~tags:

4 Responses to “Martha Stewart’s Homekeeping Handbook – The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home – REVIEW”

  1. Helen October 9, 2014 at 1:40 pm #

    I might give the cleaning section a miss but overall sounds a worthwhile tome. I know what you mean about being overwhelmed by decorating. I managed to finish my front door but have been in the middle of my bathroom for two years!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau October 10, 2014 at 1:59 pm #

      I recently washed the shower curtains in my bathroom. That should count for something. I don’t know where the time goes : – (

      Like

  2. mittsandmeasures October 9, 2014 at 1:09 pm #

    I was going to say I should buy it for my grown young adult children who are out on their own now, but the truth of the matter is, even at 56 years old, I think I need this book! Good to know. Thanks for the review! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau October 10, 2014 at 12:14 pm #

      Don’t feel bad. At 67 I still need this book! Has housekeeping just become more complicated? I think so. There are more types of materials to clean. In any case, this book is like the encyclopedia of homekeeping. I’m just glad it was a woman who wrote it and not a man! Ha!

      Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

