Top Reasons to Drink Water When Exercising

5 Oct

Just as an observer in several health clubs, I rarely see anyone drinking water. It’s ironic that these exercise enthusiasts are sweating to attain good health yet not drinking enough water while exercising can ultimately give them kidney stones.

 

The number of people in the United States with kidney stones has been increasing over the past 30 years. In fact, the number nearly doubled since 1997. There are other health problems from not drinking enough water.

 

Limited Water Intake Symptoms

Limited water intake can cause dry coughs, bronchitis, dry skin, acne, nose bleeds, urinary tract infections, constant sneezing, sinus pressure, and headaches and the above-mentioned kidney stones.

 

Benefits of drinking water when you exercise.

 

  • Water with Lemon. Besides quenching your thirst after a workout, lemons have a high concentration of citrate  which naturally inhibits kidney stone formation. If you can’t drink water, drink lemonade.

 

  • Metabolism Boost. Drinking cold water amps up your metabolism. Since your body has to work to warm up the water, you will be burning a few extra calories in the process.

 

 

  • Your Skin. If you allow your body to get dehydrated by not drinking enough water, fine lines and wrinkles deepen. Water flushes out impurities and improves circulation besides plumping the skin.

 

  • Digestion. Water helps pass waste in the body. If you are dehydrated, your body will absorb water meant for your colon and other areas of the body. This will leave your colon dry and make it difficult to pass waste.

 

How You Lose Water

You lose several cups of water everyday through breathing alone . The lungs require humid air to work. The average adult loses about six cups of water a day through urination and during exercise up to four cups per hour. When these loses are added up, it’s easy to see why the body needs fluid replenishment.

 

Understanding why water is so beneficial to the body makes it a little easier to drink.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

16 Responses to “Top Reasons to Drink Water When Exercising”

  1. puppiesinparadise October 5, 2014 at 6:05 pm #

    Reblogged this on sliceofheaveninsweden and commented:
    Marcella has written a great article about the importance of drinking enough water dailey for your health. She also points out that dehydration can cause kidney stones…

    Like

  2. puppiesinparadise October 5, 2014 at 6:02 pm #

    Great article. I have been a minium 8 glasses a day of water gal for years. I drink water from the tap not store bought water. I have been ill and I see it in my skin that I am constantly fighting dehydration.
    My husband suffers from kidney stones. I am reblogging this to read to him later. I hope others might be helped with this information.I have not heard the new progress on non calcium kidney stones. I am going to have to research that further.
    Honey

    Like

  3. Helen October 5, 2014 at 3:53 pm #

    Lack of water can also cause depression!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau October 7, 2014 at 12:15 pm #

      That is interesting. I couldn’t find any authorities online to back your statement up unfortunately. I know that a lack of water can cause fatigue. Do you have a link that explains more or is this from personal experience?

      Like

      • Helen October 7, 2014 at 1:07 pm #

        I read this in a leaflet given to me by my doctor, I think. Maybe dehydration causing poor sleep is the reason behind the possibility?

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau October 7, 2014 at 1:18 pm #

          No, wait…I don’t doubt what you read was true. I have often found information on British websites to contain information not publicized in the US. I have come to the conclusion that you have better information about health than we do here in the US! Anyway,that has been my experience and I wanted to know more.

          Like

          • Helen October 7, 2014 at 1:28 pm #

            It’s fine, Marcella – I realised you wanted to know more 🙂

            Like

      • Helen October 7, 2014 at 1:13 pm #

        Try http://www.waterbenefitshealth.com

        From a quick skim of the article on dehydration and depression it would seem that lack of water can disrupt serotonin and amino acids, the knock-on effect of which can be certain types of depression.

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau October 7, 2014 at 1:32 pm #

          Now we’re talking! That is an excellent website about water. The specific page about depression and dehydration is: http://www.waterbenefitshealth.com/depression-and-dehydration.html in the event anyone wants to read further. I had suffered from depression when I was much younger and I also rarely drank water. In those days I only drank soda and not very much of that either! Thank you for taking the time to enhance your comment. I appreciate your time because I know that it is a valuable commodity!

          Like

          • Helen October 7, 2014 at 2:08 pm #

            Glad to have been of help! It’s amazing how something so simply can affect your health in so many ways 🙂

            Like

  4. Born To Organize October 5, 2014 at 1:14 pm #

    Great article! I just read this aloud to my husband. I drink water and herbal tea all day long. I didn’t know several of these facts.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau October 7, 2014 at 12:19 pm #

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it. You know, it’s still true: the best things in life are free! (although water isn’t free anymore, is it!) I noticed that you changed your photo. Did you change your hair color too? You look so different! Still pretty, just different!

      Like

      • Born To Organize October 7, 2014 at 1:50 pm #

        Marcella I wish we could provide the developing world with fresh water and indoor plumbing. What a difference that would make.

        I dressed up my blog for Halloween (different colors, different background) and I changed my Gravatar. I’m wearing the costume I made last year and a wig!!

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau October 7, 2014 at 1:58 pm #

          Yes, I have the same water wishes! Ah, happy Halloween! I’ll have to take a closer look!

          Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Are You Drinking Water? | For Your Good Health - October 7, 2014

    […] drinking enough water can lead to these ailments that I have written about in another […]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

