High on the Stress List: Divorce, Moving, Job Loss, and Death (of your Refrigerator) Part II

24 Sep

When I had bought my Whirlpool Estate eleven years ago, the instructions said to wash the inside of the fridge before storing the food. My new Frigidaire instructions didn’t say anything about washing it but I did it anyway. I hated to take the time to do it, knowing that all my food was melting, but it was easier to do it then than later! Plus, while wiping it down, I found particles of white plastic in the freezer so I was glad I took the time to do it. The outside of the fridge still had some Styrofoam particles on it so I wiped the outside of the refrigerator too. I can’t tell you how many times I wiped and mopped up the floor which was still sticky in spots for days!

 

I was lucky in that I had finished the caramel swirl, chocolate chip ice cream the day before my refrigerator went out on me. Wouldn’t that have been a lovely mess! I was also lucky in that I decided to pull the fridge out from the wall for the umpteenth time Wednesday morning to check the drip tray. It was filled to the brim. If I hadn’t checked, the delivery men would have likely spilled it all over. That would have been a nightmare. I got an old towel and a bucket and drained it dry.

 

The new Frigidaire had tape everywhere! It was worse than a crime scene! The shelves were shrink-wrapped in plastic. What a pain when you’re in a hurry! I was afraid I would break the shelves getting the tape off. Since I was working as fast as I could, I didn’t get every drip off every food item so some things went in the fridge moist. That was a mistake. The next day, I noticed I had water in my crisper drawers. I was hoping the new fridge wasn’t malfunctioning already and thought it might be from the wet items on the shelves so I mopped up the crisper drawers with a paper towel and dried off some of the foods on the shelves. I still had to cook the defrosted meats because I didn’t want to throw them out. Who wants to cook at a time like this?

 

I had some Coho Salmon that defrosted, previously purchased from the fish counter so it was well-wrapped. I just threw that in a frying pan with some butter and ate it before anything else. It was very good! I also made a bag of previously frozen shelled edamame to go with it – the kind you just put in the microwave and steam. Easy and quick was all I could handle Wednesday night.

 

On Thursday morning, I was up early because it was going to be the coolest day of the week and I needed to mow the backyard. It was actually pleasant with a mild breeze. We had been having hot, sweltering, muggy, rainy, humid weather in the high 80’s. Even though I had long pants on and a shirt with long sleeves, and enough mosquito repellant on to make me cough, I still got bitten when I mowed! Only one bite this time though; I am like fillet mignon and strawberry shortcake to a mosquito.

 

Thursday afternoon I made meatballs of the defrosted ground turkey, fish sticks from the cod fish, and chicken nuggets from the chicken breast. I realize I didn’t have to be fancy when trying to save these meats and fish, but I do love to cook and although the flouring, egging, and breading was time-consuming, the end result was worth it and delicious! (I was determined to get something good out of this experience!) I found a great tartar sauce recipe from a Martha Stewart DVD that I got from the library the week before. I ate like a Queen with my newly working refrigerator!

 

Friday morning I mowed the front yard. It began raining so I had to stop after only doing 1/3 of the yard. I went to the library and then the grocery store and picked up some of my favorite things: spinach dip, blue corn tortilla chips, white flesh nectarines, watermelon, bread and butter pickles, and a bottle of red wine. After the week I had, I deserved it! When I came home from the store, I finished mowing. It was the sloppiest mowing job I’ve ever done but I didn’t care! I just wanted it all over with so I could relax!

 

Saturday I forced myself to do nothing. It wasn’t easy but I needed the rest. I was exhausted Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday. Today, as I write this, is Sunday the day of rest, but I continued cleaning up and organizing things. The new fridge had caused a chain reaction: items got rearranged in the kitchen, put away, washed and wiped; baseboard trim that had separated from the wall behind the fridge got hammered into place and sealant was squeezed onto spaces between it and the wall and the floor; wall paper that had come away from the walls in the bathroom and the bedroom got re-cemented with wallpaper glue, and so on. It was like I was just moving in! I was stuck in “drive” gear and couldn’t get out! However, now that it’s all done, I feel pleased and I don’t feel exhausted anymore. Who knew a dying refrigerator could be so much work? And it could have been so much worse! All along I kept thinking about people who suffer through flooding disasters. I don’t know how they continue to stay in their home afterwards .

 

So, in all, it wasn’t as bad as it could have been. I learned a few things that could help me if a future catastrophe happens and maybe you could learn from my experience too. None of the food made me sick – I was worried about that. All my yogurt containers were good. Even my homemade meatball calzones that I had in the freezer which defrosted, I ate and they were good! I guess I did a better job with the bags of ice than I realized! I always wondered why some people needed a second fridge in their garage. I’m beginning to see the benefit now! Imagine life without a refrigerator? Do you remember your grandparents having an icebox?

 

I’m glad I am in good physical condition because it helped me to rebound quickly. It also helped me to move my fridge, pack my food in containers and place a 7 lb bag of ice on each one. All the more reason to work out ladies so you can tackle household emergencies without injuries or mental breakdowns! Fitness rules!

 

It’s interesting that all of this happened the week before the Labor Day Weekend. Now I know why they call it Labor Day!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

8 Responses to “High on the Stress List: Divorce, Moving, Job Loss, and Death (of your Refrigerator) Part II”

  1. kelihasablog September 29, 2014 at 6:13 pm #

    I just hate when that happens. Invariably, it happens to me right after I have just stuffed it with new food from the fridge. I commend your taste on the Edamame…. I adore this stuff! 😀

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau October 1, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

      I’m getting used to my new fridge. I’m trying not to buy too much. I used to overstuff my freezer. Now, everything is so organized and neat. (I wonder how long that will last?) Ha! Yes, I love edamame. Hard to believe a snack that is so good for you is also delicious!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. puppiesinparadise September 24, 2014 at 2:44 pm #

    What a week you have had! It is understandable that you were glad to see it end. Good job on saving all your food and not letting it go to waste.
    Honey

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau September 26, 2014 at 1:11 pm #

      I managed to save most of it. I probably could have saved all of it but I just didn’t think it was worth the risk. I didn’t need to be sick on top of this experience! Actually, it sounds a lot worse than it really was. The worst part for me was worrying about should I call a repairman or should I buy a new refrigerator!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. silverbells2012 September 24, 2014 at 1:44 pm #

    My fridge is normally empty, but the freezer part is full of produce from the garden, so I would be peeved if I lost all that (though I understand you can refreeze vegetables). Glad you got it sorted and some grass cut.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marcella Rousseau September 26, 2014 at 12:44 pm #

      I just clicked the Like button on myself instead of clicking the Reply button. This is what happens when you take an allergy pill! *groan* Anyway, you can refreeze vegetables? Yes, I turned up the fridge to a higher coolness (is that a word?) and that stopped the water from forming in the crisper drawers. It must have been too humid in the house. This week we are having spectacular weather. Sunny, 80 degrees and cool nights in the 50’s. It’s like living in California. This is not typical Indianapolis weather but I sure am enjoying it!

      Like

      • silverbells2012 September 26, 2014 at 1:22 pm #

        It’s cooler here in Northern England but still warm enough to be out without the coat. Anyway, glad you’ve sorted your fridge out and yes you can refreeze vegetables (maybe check as some might be different).

        Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. High on the Stress List: Divorce, Moving, Job Loss, and Death (of your Refrigerator). | For Your Good Health - September 24, 2014

    […] am enjoying my new refrigerator, a Frigidaire, even though when it runs it sounds like a cross between the boiler room of […]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

