“Orbit” by John J. Nance

9 Aug

All work and no play makes Johnny a dull boy. When you follow a healthy lifestyle, you want to be sure to eat right, get enough exercise and enough sleep, and also incorporate entertainment into your life. If the entertainment you choose is educational, all the better! Audiobooks fill that bill for me.

 

This is a review of the audiobook “Orbit” by John J. Nance. It is a bit unusual that the author is also the performer of this audiobook. Nance did a great job! This was especially surprising to me since I am such a big fan of performer Dick Hill. I still favor Mr. Hill over Nance, but Nance’s writing is so strong and so vivid that it put this audiobook over the top. He has a gift for detail.

 

Recently, I had seen the movie Gravity with Sandra Bullock and George Clooney. Two people told me they didn’t like it. I ignored them because generally, I love space movies. I enjoyed Gravity very much as I knew I would. But when I noticed the audiobook, Orbit, on a shelf, I wondered if it would be too soon to see another space flick, knowing that it might be similar to Gravity. I decided to give it a try regardless.

 

It started out being similar to Gravity; even so, I was getting into it anyway. I can usually tell by the first disc if I’m going to stick with it or not. Then, it took an interesting turn. Each turn it took was more interesting and exciting and surprising than the next! I was hooked before the end of the first disc.

 

This is an audiobook that is difficult to turn off, that’s how good it is. The main character, Kip Dawson, wins a trip to outer space. His second wife (his first one died in a car accident) doesn’t want him to go. She and his daughters are terrified that something will go wrong. Kip knows the company offering the trip has a clean record. He is confident nothing will go wrong. But something goes very wrong.

 

We are told that if anything does go wrong, nobody will come to his rescue. Not NASA, not the Russians, not the Chinese, nobody. It would be too expensive. Besides, this is a commercial flight. This, readers, is the future of outer space. Our grandchildren may be lucky enough to book such a flight!

 

While Kip is in space, he witnesses a tragic accident on board and has accepted the fact that in four or five days, his oxygen will be depleted and he will die.  He decides to record his thoughts on the ship’s laptop computer. All communication systems are down so he writes to what he anticipates will be a reader sometime in the future who finds the spaceship. It could be a few days, weeks, months, years, or maybe never. He doesn’t know. So, he writes about his first girlfriend. He writes about his second marriage and how unhappy he is in it. He writes about his oldest son who hasn’t forgiven him for the death of his mother, Kip’s first wife. He writes about sex and how important it is to him and to all men! What the heck, right? Who’s going to read it? Probably nobody! Right?

 

Oh contrare, mon ami! As it turns out, the space engineers who built the ship set up a separate communications link on the laptop so that it could download information. It was only one-way communication. A kid on earth, someone who had gotten into trouble hacking once before, hacked into the Kip’s laptop. What are the chances?

 

I won’t spoil the ending or even the middle, but this was a great story – so much fun with a good ending and a positive, inspirational message. I loved it and I was sorry when it ended! It will make you laugh and it will bring a tear to your eye. Make an effort to get a copy. There are nine hours of listening pleasure on eight discs. I’m giving a very strong recommendation.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

5 Responses to ““Orbit” by John J. Nance”

  1. Three Well Beings August 12, 2014 at 2:08 am #

    I loved Gravity, and was so surprised that some of my friends were less than thrilled. I was riveted! It’s good to have such a good audio book recommendation. I enjoy listening to a good book! 🙂

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 13, 2014 at 2:30 pm #

      Yes, I can’t understand why anyone wouldn’t like it although one person told me she gets motion sickness easily and she couldn’t take all the spinning in the movie so that’s understandable. I was riveted to it too. The spinning didn’t bother me although something else did but I don’t even remember what it was now! Anyway, I would recommend it. I like strong female leads even though I’m not that crazy about Bullock. I’m sure you’ll like Orbit. It has some funny parts too. Just very enjoyable!

      Like

  2. kelihasablog August 11, 2014 at 2:24 pm #

    I love audio books so I’ll have to check it out! Thanks for the critique! 😀

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 13, 2014 at 2:12 pm #

      I love audio books too. It’s not always easy to find a good one! This one was good!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Return – an Audio Book Review | For Your Good Health - January 10, 2015

    […] been listening to and writing reviews for audio books for 3 1/2 years now. Two of my favorite fiction audio books were The Swan Thieves, a storyline that […]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

