Tornado Damage to My Subdivision

25 Jun

Two hours ago I drove around my neighborhood and took photos of the damage from an F1 tornado. I wrote an article and sent photos to Yahoo as I’ve been doing recently and they got the best photos. I didn’t give them exclusive rights but I don’t want to duplicate what I sent them so I’m going to post the photos that I didn’t send to them. When they publish what I sent them, I’ll include a link to it in this post so you can see the worst of the damage.

The street near my subdivision where we enter and exit was partially closed due to downed trees. In my photos, the trees were pushed to the side of the road as you can see.

Trees down along main road near my subdivision

Trees down along main road near my subdivision

These are homes on a road in my subdivision that form a “U” loop south of my house. It’s incredible that my home suffered no damage.  There are many more homes further south in my subdivision but I didn’t check them out. I was too stunned at the devastation. I was more stunned that there was no news coverage of this area! 

My subdivision1

My subdivision1

My subdivision2

My subdivision2

My subdivision3

My subdivision3

My subdivision4

My subdivision4

When the warning sirens went off, I turned on the TV. When I heard a tornado was on the ground on streets that were close to me, I grabbed my transistor radio and headed for the bathroom, the innermost room in my house. I listened to the radio station, WIBC as listeners called in with live reports as to what they saw. When reports put the tornado north of my area, I came out of my house to survey if there was any damage to my house or my immediate street. I must have picked up 40-50 branches from trees I didn’t recognize, not to mention pine cones. The ground was saturated as we had a lot of rain too. Weather reports are that we can expect more rain. Keep your fingers crossed that there will be no more tornadoes!

As soon as my Yahoo article is published, I will put the link here so be sure to come back to see the better photos. 

UPDATE: Link for the Yahoo article with new photos.

Being prepared for weather emergencies can save your life and the lives of others. Always have fresh batteries in your portable radio and know the “safe” rooms and emergency exits to your house. Also, be alert to warning sirens. Mine were not that loud and it could be that the wind direction had something to do with that. In any case, as soon as I heard them, I turned on the TV. If I had waited only a couple of minutes it would have been too late to hear anything because the power went out!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

29 Responses to “Tornado Damage to My Subdivision”

  1. silverbells2012 June 30, 2014 at 3:26 pm #

    Fingers crossed for you!

    I didn’t actually get your post on my newsfeed so just as well you mentioned it elsewhere.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau July 1, 2014 at 2:51 pm #

      OK, thanks for the info. We had another storm last night with 60 mph winds. There was again tree damage in my subdivision but not as bad as the last storm. There was tree damage elsewhere but I haven’t listened to the news so I’m not sure where. No tornadoes as far as I know. I’m as prepared as I know how to be….lots of canned foods, containers of water, full tank of gas, lots of pillows to put over my head in case I need to take cover in the bathtub! But, we’re supposed to get a reprieve, perfect weather is predicted for the 4th of July and it will be a little cooler too with less humidity so that is something to look forward to! : – )

      Like

      • silverbells2012 July 1, 2014 at 3:40 pm #

        You’ve certainly had a bad time of it in your part of the world! Fingers crossed it is on the wane and you won’t need your canned food..

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau July 6, 2014 at 3:18 pm #

          For the last 2 summers we had drought conditions. It’s either feast or famine around here. I’ll probably eat my canned foods before I need them! lol.

          Like

          • silverbells2012 July 6, 2014 at 3:24 pm #

            I think it’s getting more like that everywhere!

            Like

            • Marcella Rousseau July 6, 2014 at 3:36 pm #

              I agree with you 100% Some haven’t figured that out yet. (Mostly the younger generation.) I’d write more, but I just got a 4 minute warning and have to close out my stuff!

              Like

              • silverbells2012 July 6, 2014 at 3:48 pm #

                Well, maybe next time….

                Like

              • Marcella Rousseau July 7, 2014 at 1:14 pm #

                I had run into someone at the library using the computers like me and she began chatting with me saying she was not used to all the rain we had here in Indianapolis. That of course prompted me to ask her where she was from. She said Utah. Then I told her we had a drought for 2 summers in a row. She was silent after that. Apparently she didn’t realize how important it was for our area to have rain since we (we? I always crack up when I say “we” because I don’t consider myself to be from these parts as you know) anyway, since we grow a lot of corn and soybeans here. We (we?) also have some of the biggest pig/hog farms here and they depend on the corn. So, we supply a lot of the local and national (as far as I know) areas with corn, soybeans, and pork. I could have explained all that but I’m here to do my work. If she caught up with me in the parking lot, I might have explained it further to her. : – )

                Like

              • silverbells2012 July 7, 2014 at 1:17 pm #

                Well, it’s interesting for me to learn more about your part of the world from an ‘insider’s’ viewpoint. I understand what you mean about ‘we’ 😉

                Like

              • Marcella Rousseau July 8, 2014 at 12:03 pm #

                : – )

                Like

  2. Three Well Beings June 30, 2014 at 12:40 am #

    I am certainly glad to know you’re safe. I have never been near a tornado and the warnings themselves would be frightening enough, let alone to have knowledge that they are right in your neighborhood. The photos do tell the story! Yikes!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau June 30, 2014 at 12:02 pm #

      Thank you! It’s not the first tornado I’ve been through and the other was just as close, I actually saw it. That was when I lived in Evansville, IN about 3 1/2 hours south of Indy. The damage from that one was minimum however. When you see actual damage close up, it does something to you. As Dr. Phil would say, it was a pivotal moment. It may be a coincidence, but after I sent in my photos to Yahoo, the news reports on our local TV stations changed to include my area. I hope I had something to do with that because people should know the extent of the damage for a whole host of reasons. For example, a volunteer group was formed through a church to help people clean up. Living in the mid-west, oddly enough, you become complacent to the tornado warnings. But now, after this experience, I’m not so complacent! Today, we are having another storm with low warnings of a possible tornado. I’m at the library and the normally quiet atmosphere is full of chatter and even laughter! A nervous reaction, I’m sure! As far as the photos, they were only a sample. There was more damage, mostly to trees as far as I could tell. I told my cousin about it in Italy and she told me that they were having unending rain, it just doesn’t stop. My mother used to say, “If we didn’t have the weather to talk about, what would we talk about?” 🙂

      Like

  3. P. C. Zick June 26, 2014 at 7:34 am #

    Very happy you’re all right. I surmise your house didn’t get hit?

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau June 26, 2014 at 11:01 am #

      Thank you! I was hit by the winds which were over 100 mph. I think the way my house is sandwiched in between other houses and also that the trees I planted were all fir type trees, helped a lot. I noticed that all the limbs and trees that went down were maple trees, so….word to the wise!

      Like

      • P. C. Zick June 27, 2014 at 8:08 am #

        it’s true that certain trees can withstand it. When I lived in Florida, the pine were better adapted to hurricane winds. Happy to hear you’re doing well.

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau June 27, 2014 at 3:52 pm #

          The maple trees in my subdivision are over 30 years old and that may have something to do with it too. There are lots of landscaping crews in my neighborhood cleaning up the messes!

          Like

        • Marcella Rousseau June 27, 2014 at 4:03 pm #

          Patricia, do you get an email notice when I update a post? I’m just wondering if I need to write another post to let everyone know that I just included the link to the photos I sent to yahoo.

          Like

  4. Gerard Villanueva June 25, 2014 at 4:05 pm #

    That’s incredible, It must have been some experience hearing the wind and waiting for the tornado to pass. I’m glad to hear that there was no damage in your immediate area. We haven’t heard about tornados the past week on our national weather news.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau June 26, 2014 at 11:06 am #

      I actually didn’t hear the wind or at least don’t remember hearing it. I was plugged into my transistor radio and hiding in the bathroom which is what I usually do when there is a bad storm. The homes that were damaged were within yards of me, just down the street. My street “T’s” and I am on the top part of the “T”. The homes that were damaged were on the vertical part of the “T” which doesn’t really make any sense because the tornado went northeast or at least that is what they say. I am east of where the tornado was. It was just crazy and very scary. This isn’t my first experience with a tornado but it was the first time I actually felt scared.

      Like

      • Gerard Villanueva June 26, 2014 at 3:10 pm #

        Glad you are ok! In fact they reported on the national news this morning that a tornado(s) hit the southwestern portion of Indianapolis. They even showed some footage of a neighborhood.

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau June 27, 2014 at 3:54 pm #

          The local news keeps showing the same house, the one with the camper on top of the roof. They reported on 2 subdivisions but not mine. I haven’t seen anything on the national news though. I’ll keep my eye out.

          Like

  5. puppiesinparadise June 25, 2014 at 3:32 pm #

    I am glad to hear that you were unharmed.
    Honey

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau June 26, 2014 at 11:09 am #

      Thank you, me too! Glad no one else was hurt either. Someone’s camper got lifted up and landed on top of another homeowner’s house which now may have to be totally demolished. There were 2 little kids and their grandfather in that house who knew enough to go into their basement. I learned that an F1 tornado is not the smallest one. There is a smaller one that is categorized as “0”.

      Like

      • puppiesinparadise June 26, 2014 at 11:18 am #

        They were lucky that they had a basement in their house.
        Things can be replaced but people can’t be. I am glad to hear that your neighnors came out okay.I am sorry to hear about their house.
        Honey

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau June 26, 2014 at 11:37 am #

          Thank you. This family has been interviewed quite a bit by reporters, even the kids! They seem to be OK. I think we’re accustomed to storm damage here – it’s drilled into our heads by the newscasters at the beginning of tornado season. Tree removal trucks are everywhere! They are having a field day! I’ve never seen so many trucks!

          Like

          • puppiesinparadise June 26, 2014 at 11:51 am #

            All of you must still be in a state of chock. It is good to hear help arrived quickly. It amazes me how the communities pull together to help and support their neighbors in these circumstances.
            Honey

            Like

            • Marcella Rousseau June 26, 2014 at 12:01 pm #

              You bring up the point that prompted me to post about the tornado. I feel that my subdivision has been neglected. In the other subdivisions that were damaged (worse), there was at least one organization that volunteered to help clean up. In my subdivision, it shocked me to see that nothing was done! This tornado damage happened around 5:30 pm Tuesday. Wednesday at 1:00 pm is when I took my photos! I wondered why none of the tree debris was removed or why no one was outside cleaning up the mess! I’m actually torn between offering to help someone and wondering if they might be put off or suspicious as to why I want to help since I don’t know any of these folks and it’s only me and not a group. I mean, all these homeowners can’t all be on vacation! Even if they work full time and came home at 6:00 pm, wouldn’t you think they’d want to do some cleaning up? Or, do they need to leave it as is until their insurance person shows up? I don’t know the answer to this as I’ve never been this close to this kind of damage before. It’s one thing to see it on TV or in a photo; it’s another to see house after house with downed trees, trees on their roofs, etc.

              Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

