Track Rules at Health Clubs Are For Your Safety

19 Jun

I was walking on the 3-lane-track of a modern, two-story health club. An elderly gentleman, about 60,  sidled up to me and asked, “Did you tell them the correct way to walk on the track?” I wasn’t sure what he was talking about. He continued, “Those two have been going halfway around the track the wrong way and then they walked back halfway the right way. They did this about four or five times!” I listened to him as he urgently told me what two young teenagers were doing on the track. When he finally gave me an opportunity to speak I said, “No, I didn’t see them doing that. I just told them that they should move to the right because the left lane is the passing lane. They had moved all the way to the left to let me pass them on the right.”

This didn’t seem like much of a problem to me and I figured that they were new. It was a boy and girl who looked to be about 13 years of age. The boy smiled and quickly moved out of the way for me (he was on the far left). I moved on and it was then that the elderly gentleman caught up with me.

“Everyone has to go in the same direction otherwise someone is going to get hurt.” He was right. We can’t all go in whatever direction we please, it would be chaos! He thanked me and hurried on leaving me to think about what had just happened.

The two teens were gone, disappeared. Apparently they saw the gentleman talking to me and thought that I must be a staff member.

This health club is a family health club. There are elderly people using the track, moms pushing strollers with kids inside, elderly people with walkers, and sometimes very seriously handicapped people who can barely walk at all on the track. There is more than enough room for all of us but we need to follow the simple rules: go in the same direction!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What are your thoughts on this post?

