10 Fruits You Never Heard Of – New Food Friday Flash

20 Jun

We take for granted all the varieties of apples, pears, plums, oranges, and other fruits, that we find in our supermarkets everyday. Many of these fruits are shipped from across the nation and beyond so that they can be on our table, fresh, sweet, and ready to eat. But have you ever thought about what fruits are served at kitchen tables in France, Germany, Russia, Australia, Central America, India, or Africa?

 

The 10 fruits I’m covering today in this New Food Friday Flash are fresh fruits that turn up on kitchen tables more commonly in other countries. If you do find any of them at your local grocery store, let me know! But how can you try these fruits? Well, you could ask your grocer if he could order them for you or you could plan a trip to the country they come from, vacation there, and as part of your adventure, try the new fruit!

 

Here is the list of 10 fruits below. Do you recognize any of them?

 

Casseille

 

Sea Buckthorn

 

Riberry

 

Marula

 

Mazhanje

 

Mamoncillo

Mamoncillo Fruit

Mamoncillo

 

Griotte

 

Acerola

 

Davidson’s Plum

 

Jamun

 

For more information about them, the ways they are used, and which country each is from, read the article I’ve written here.

 

The next New Food Friday Flash will contain 10 more fruits you’ve never eaten and a link to more in-depth information about them.

 

Fruit is good for your health and travel is good for your mind!

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

13 Responses to “10 Fruits You Never Heard Of – New Food Friday Flash”

  1. keraoregan June 29, 2014 at 5:03 am #

    Would love to be able to include some into my recipes just for fun!

    Like

  2. keraoregan June 29, 2014 at 5:03 am #

    Yep- I definitely have never heard of these before! Wonder where I could get these in New Zealand!?

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau June 29, 2014 at 1:28 pm #

      You could try an international market if you have one, otherwise, I wouldn’t know what to tell you since most of these fruits don’t travel well. You could also ask your produce manager; they could tell you something.

      Like

  3. Gerard Villanueva June 21, 2014 at 8:20 am #

    I’ve only heard of the mamoncillo but don’t remember seeing one. I wouldn’t be surprised if I came across it since I’ve noticed that recently a wider variety of fruits and vegetables are being stocked in our international style supermarkets. I will keep my out for it.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau June 23, 2014 at 12:56 pm #

      They were all new to me. Indy had an international supermarket but it closed several years ago. Meijer seems to have the best choice of unusual (depending where you’re from) fruits and vegetables. Kroger has a wider variety of unusual jarred and canned foods. But, usually all you have to do is ask a manager and they will stock the item if it is in season. The last time I bought chestnuts, they were so good, I had to have more! When I looked for them, there were none left and the produce man said they were not going to get anymore because the season ended. Let me know if you find the mamoncillo and how you liked it.

      Like

      • Gerard Villanueva June 29, 2014 at 7:18 am #

        I did find mamoncillo in our store and picked some up. It has a very nice taste, something between a pear and orange maybe. The seed is very large compared the amount of fruit so it might seem like a lot of work to eat it. Maybe I’m missing a way to get the most out of it.

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau June 29, 2014 at 1:36 pm #

          I’ll check my source to see if there is anything about that and post the info here.

          Like

        • Marcella Rousseau July 2, 2014 at 12:55 pm #

          I checked my source. It said it tastes like a grape. And, as you say, the seed is very large. Chefs use the seed like pumpkins or nuts. It says that the inner fruit is slippery and releases easily with a gentle squeeze. Not having seen or tasted this fruit myself and just based on the leathery description, it sounds like it is difficult to open and since it has a large oval seed, there might not be much fruit there to enjoy! Maybe the answer is quantity! Does that help any?

          Like

          • Gerard Villanueva July 6, 2014 at 7:59 pm #

            It does taste something like a grape now that you mention it. I needed to scrape off the fruit from the seed. I’ll have to try it again. I read also you can roast the seed after removing and eating the fruit section. Thanks for checking up on it.

            Like

  4. silverbells2012 June 21, 2014 at 1:03 am #

    All new to me lol!

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

