New Food Friday Flash – Dandelion

16 May

Wait! Wait, you exclaim! dandelion is a food? You want us to try a new food called dandelion? Yes, fellow foodies. As I have been known to say, “Try it, you’ll like it.”  Or, “Nothing ventured, nothing gained.” Or, “Variety is the spice of life!”

While I wouldn’t want to see you grazing on your lawn masticating the stuff, you could try the supermarket version of dandelion. It’s nutritious and delicious. Why else would I post it here if it wasn’t?

Naysayers halt your protests because this New Food Friday Flash is about the controversial weed called dandelion.

It’s controversial because we hate seeing it in our lawns but we (some of us anyway) love seeing it on our dinner plates.

Did you know that dandelion is a relative of endive? That doesn’t sound so bad does it? It’s low in calories, high in potassium, vitamin C, and calcium. If you want to know more about the dandelion, how it got its name, who gave their child the name, and other amusing and interesting facts about dandelion, click here.

Otherwise, I’ll let the thought about eating dandelion percolate in your brain for a while and when you’re ready, you can click on the above link. Far be it from me to force you to eat something that you perceive as negative. 

More for me I always say!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

22 Responses to “New Food Friday Flash – Dandelion”

  1. P. C. Zick May 21, 2014 at 1:18 pm #

    I’ve heard of eating dandelions and I’m glad you’re promoting it. I feel sorry for the little guy. It’s pretty during the week it blooms and then a menace. Good news from western Pennsylvania: Yards are overrun with them which means folks aren’t wholesale nuking their yards with pesticides to kill them as my husband said they once did around here.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau May 23, 2014 at 12:21 pm #

      Lawns in my neighborhood this spring were overrun with dandelion. There were only a few homes that had pristine lawns without the dandelion. I wonder though if when they go to seed (those puffballs) if they add to the pollen count. My allergies this year are worse than they’ve ever been. My next door neighbor is lax when it comes to taking care of his property but this morning as I was leaving, I noticed a sign in his front yard that looked like it might have been a for sale sign although it was a sign that I didn’t recognize so I’m not 100% sure it was a for sale sign. I’ll have to double-check when I get home. Maybe a new owner will take better care of the property. I think the weeds and neglect there are what has caused the spike in my allergy problems.

      Like

      • P. C. Zick May 23, 2014 at 5:28 pm #

        I’ve heard that allergies are up this year all over. I know it’s bad here. Here’s hoping to a new neighbor with better lawn keeping abilities.

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau May 27, 2014 at 3:26 pm #

          Ah, well that is some consolation! My neighbor has a for rent sign up. When I left my house today, there was a big pickup truck parked on his lawn so it looks like more upkeep is happening. Thank God! It’s been the worst looking house on the block! With this nice weather, it seems like everybody’s got the bug to spruce up their house – me included!

          Like

  2. Gerard Villanueva May 19, 2014 at 7:48 pm #

    I always wanted to try them by foraging but was never sure I’d be picking the right plant at the right time. I found them at the supermarket this weekend and thanks to you a bunch went right into my cart. I haven’t tried cooking them yet but I had a delicious salad of the dandelion greens, a bit of onion, roasted vegetables and balsamic and garlic vinaigrette. I had it with toasted French bread (homemade of course). They are a little bitter, but I really didn’t notice it with all the ingredients I had going on. I’ve been missing a great salad ingredient all this time! I really enjoyed it and will keep it on my list to use more often. I suppose it is a very seasonal plant. I liked all the background info you posted about it too! I’ve always been curious about dandelion wine. Ever tried it?

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau May 23, 2014 at 12:13 pm #

      I’m so glad you liked it! Yes, it is a little bitter so you have to have a palate for the bitter greens. I like all of them. If you cook them, they lose their bitterness. They do make a nice addition to a salad and your salad sounds delicious! I imagine some varieties or maybe soils might make some more bitter than others? I don’t know. I’ve been eating them since I was a kid so I don’t notice the bitterness. I think Meijer has them all year round but I have to say, Meijer is exceptional compared to the other grocery stores here in Indy. The others can’t compare to the quality and the selection of greens. I’m glad you liked the background info too! Thanks for reading it! I’ve never tasted dandelion wine. I’ll have to keep my eye out for it. If I find it, I will do a post on it.

      Like

  3. Three Well Beings May 19, 2014 at 1:10 am #

    I used to feed dandelions to my canary–something my grandmother did! But I haven’t had any dandelion greens myself. Maybe I should try to cultivate a taste for them! You make them sound more appealing than I’ve previously considered. :-)

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau May 19, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

      You know, grandmothers were smart people! You can put them in a salad with other greens (that might be the best way to test them since you’re new to them) or you can cook them and eat them as a side dish. Do you like arugula or chicory? If you like them, chances are you’ll like dandelion! Let me know if you try it ;-)

      Like

  4. silverbells2012 May 16, 2014 at 4:49 pm #

    I like dandelion coffee – made from the root. So, no, it isn’t isn’t a shocking concept for me lol!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau May 19, 2014 at 3:11 pm #

      I have heard of dandelion coffee but have never seen it in the stores and never tried it but I would love to try it. Do you drink it black? HOw do you take it?

      Like

      • silverbells2012 May 19, 2014 at 4:15 pm #

        I drink it white – maybe I should try it black to see if I like it this way to?!

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau May 21, 2014 at 3:16 pm #

          There’s a white version? How is that prepared?

          Like

          • silverbells2012 May 21, 2014 at 3:50 pm #

            No, I mean I drink it with milk. The sort I buy did use to have lactose added but that has now been taken out.

            Like

            • Marcella Rousseau May 23, 2014 at 12:05 pm #

              Is this a powdered mix that you’re talking about? I’m going to have to look a little harder to find dandelion coffee because all this talking about it has made me want to try it!

              Like

              • silverbells2012 May 23, 2014 at 12:11 pm #

                It’s granules which you dissolve in hot water. The company is Symingtons, so I guess if you look online you might be able to find a stockist that way.

                Like

              • Marcella Rousseau May 23, 2014 at 12:22 pm #

                Granules, that’s a new one on me. I’ll take a stroll down the coffee aisle at Meijer to see if I can find anything like it. Thanks for the info!!

                Like

              • silverbells2012 May 23, 2014 at 12:35 pm #

                Good luck!

                Like

        • Marcella Rousseau June 27, 2014 at 4:17 pm #

          Helen, do you get an email notice or any kind of notice when I update a post? I’m just wondering if I need to write a separate post to let everyone know that I just included the link to the tornado damage photos I sent to yahoo. Thanks!

          Like

          • silverbells2012 June 27, 2014 at 4:43 pm #

            No, I’m afraid I didn’t get a notification about your update but thanks for letting me know.

            Like

            • Marcella Rousseau June 29, 2014 at 1:32 pm #

              OK, thanks! I’m going to write a short post to let everyone know. I didn’t know if WordPress automatically sent out an update notice whenever we update a post. Mystery solved!

              Like

What is your take on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 347 other followers