Men’s Health – Their Greatest Threats

25 Apr

Today’s post is devoted just for men but women should read it too.  I’ve noticed recently that my male readership has increased steadily and so I want to address health issues that men specifically find challenging.

It’s no secret that men don’t live as long as women. I think part of the reason for that is that men don’t take care of themselves as well as women do. I’ve been witness to this countless times with my own father, my son, my husband (ex), men I’ve dated, through social networking, and just in general.

I remember my dad saying that when he finally went to see a doctor, the doctor was shocked that my dad hadn’t had a physical in 20 years!

A past boyfriend of mine told me that he fell over the balcony of his two-story house, landed on his back, and never went to the doctor!

Another past boyfriend had symptoms of depression but never followed up with a health professional. He was a counselor prior to his current job.

My son told me he had growths on his hands that he let go for too long. He doesn’t believe they are warts.  He still hasn’t seen a doctor.

My ex-husband quit smoking countless times. He IS a doctor!

So men, you can see you are not alone in not seeking out help for your health issues. We women would like to see you live as long as we do. The way to do that is to pay more attention to your body. Seek medical help when you need it and even when you don’t, in the form of a preventative checkup or procedure.

I’ve written more here. Start now to take better care of yourself.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

4 Responses to “Men’s Health – Their Greatest Threats”

  1. silverbells2012 April 27, 2014 at 4:49 pm #

    I could do with following your advice mysel lol! Hope your son gets his hands checked out. Sure he is right but who wants warts in their hands, if nothing else?

    • Marcella Rousseau April 28, 2014 at 12:54 pm #

      Ditto! My son will get around to it eventually. I know his dad had a ganglia on his wrist so maybe he has a few of those? I haven’t them yet so I can only guess. Maybe he thinks they have to be cut off and that is what is deterring him!

      • silverbells2012 April 28, 2014 at 1:00 pm #

        Maybe… Can’t say I like going to the doctor’s myself – especially with it being so difficult to get an appointment these days.

        • Marcella Rousseau April 30, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

          I haven’t had problems with doctors offices but I’m having a heck of a time with dentist offices. I actually had to go through the Better Business Bureau to get reimbursed for $454 (no small chunk of change) because otherwise this dentist wasn’t going to give it to me! Long story but their charges didn’t match the work they did and the reason they gave for not sending me a refund check was that I didn’t let them know that I had started going to a different dentist. They had no leg to stand on because my dentist’s office had contacted them for copies of x-rays that they had taken! So how could they claim they didn’t know? And that is just the tip of the iceberg. I’ve been to a lot of dentists in my lifetime but I never came across an office as inept as this one. If you ask me, this whole dental/insurance system needs an overhaul. I keep thinking how grateful I am to be a healthy person. What if I was sickly and had to jump through all the hoops required of me to get reimbursed and/or to track down all the issues involved? Even now with this new dentist, my dental insurance says they won’t pay the claim. They are not happy with the copy of the x-ray that the dentist sent them. I went there today to get another copy (apparently they sent the insurance company an inadequate copy.) It’s so aggravating!

What is your take on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers

