New Food Friday – Chipotle in Adobo Sauce

21 Mar

You know how I love to try new foods. I slowly scan the ethnic aisles at my local Meijer or Kroger supermarkets until I find something interesting that I might like to try. I also get ideas from cooking shows, cookbooks, and recipe websites. For this New Food Friday I found Chipotle in Adobo Sauce on the shelf at Meijer and decided to pick up a can.

Chipotle Peppers in Adobo Sauce

Chipotle Peppers in Adobo Sauce

I had no idea what they were used for or how they would taste. Once home, I couldn’t wait to open up the can and try one!

Chipotle Peppers in sauce

Chipotle Peppers in sauce

I grabbed a fork and popped one in my mouth. Duh! Warning: don’t do that! These peppers are full of hot seeds and the peppers and sauce are HOT!

Chipotle with seeds

Chipotle with seeds

Ingredients

Chipotle Peppers, Tomato Puree, Vinegar, Onions, Sunflower Seed Oil, Sugar, Salt, Paprika and Garlic.

2 Tablespoons (serving size) contains:

sodium 200mg

sugar 2g

Vitamin C 6%

Vitamin A 10%

Fiber 1g

A Chipotle is a smoked, dried, jalapeño. These chipotle peppers keep well in the fridge in a jar. Don’t leave them in the can.

My challenge was to find out how I could use these peppers. Yes, they are popular in Mexican dishes, but I wanted to see if there were other ways I could use them.

I cut up a pepper and poured some of the adobo sauce over a jar of garbanzo beans. I let them marinate a couple of days. Then I spread the beans out on a pan lined with parchment paper, poured a little bit of olive oil on them, sprinkled some sea salt over them and put them in the oven for 20 minutes at 400°. (Watch carefully so they don’t burn.) They were good! I like them as a snack. They are low in calories and high in fiber.

The next thing I tried was to scrape off the seeds, dice a pepper, and then put it in a homemade tomato sauce to pour over pasta.

Chipotle chopped in pan

Chipotle chopped in pan

I sprinkled a generous amount of Asiago cheese on top. Tasty!

My favorite though was to add a pepper on top of a hot dog. My choice of hot dog is one made with chicken, turkey, and pork. I don’t eat beef. The chipotle was in place of the usual ketchup or mustard. This was spicy and very good!

Chipotle on a hot dog

Chipotle on a hot dog

While I don’t recommend you eat hot dogs often, once in a while won’t hurt you. They’re better if you don’t douse them in ketchup which is full of sugar, or mustard which is full of sodium. You can always buy low sodium hot dogs if you’re watching your sodium intake. I put my dog on a whole grain bun. It was darn good!

Since the weather is warming up (I was wondering if it ever would again) you could put your hot dogs on the grill! These chipotle peppers would go well with grilled chicken, steak, and burgers too.  You can put them in a chili or how about on a hero sandwich? The possibilities are limited to your imagination.

Don’t forget to serve some vanilla ice cream for dessert to cool your mouth!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

34 Responses to “New Food Friday – Chipotle in Adobo Sauce”

  1. Gerard Villanueva March 23, 2014 at 9:54 am #

    Marcella, I love the idea of roasting the adobo sauce-marinated garbanzos!. The pasta sauce idea with the asiago sounds very good too. I read that hotdogs have been adapted as street food in Mexico. They use Mexican condiments and a different type of bun. In fact chipotle in adobo sauce is one optional ingredient. You are on to something there!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau March 23, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

      If I do the garbanzos again, I will leave out the olive oil. I think it reduced the hotness of the beans. But there’s something about a hot dog and the Chipotle in adobo sauce that really tickled my palate. For something so simple, it is really a winner! I also tried it on a turkey burger but I didn’t care for it at all which surprised me. It’s fun experimenting!

      Like

  2. puppiesinparadise March 22, 2014 at 4:42 am #

    I had to laugh at the way you popped it in your mouth to taste it. There are something like 300 different kinds of peppers. One should always be cautious on tasting a new one. I love peppers but my stomach can not handle the extreme heat any more. I want the flavor but not the extreme heat. I use very very little when I cook.

    When cooking with peppers, one must be carefull not to touch your face. Years ago I made salsa and I washed my hands afterwards and thought nothing more of it. I wiped my eye to move my hair off my face and to my surprise it felt like I set it on fire. I promise I never have forgot that experience. I had a friend from Mexico that told me that You should wash you hands thoroughly with a salt water which helps kill that burn. Dish soap will not wash away the burn completely. If you have heart burn following your meal a cup of cold water with a teaspoon of applecider vinegar will do wonders to help. I use a tablespoon myself. I hope you have fun experiementing with new recipes using these peppers. Bon Appitite!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau March 22, 2014 at 4:45 pm #

      I’m no stranger to peppers. I didn’t think these would be very hot considering they were in a can. If they were in a jar, I would have only taken a tiny bite. They were hot, but not so hot that I had to drink or eat anything afterward. They surprised me though! I only have half of one left. I even added some of the seeds to my broccoli rabe (rapini) to give it more zip. My favorite hot peppers are what some call the “pepperonci” peppers. They come in a jar and are either the Italian version or the Greek version which are basically the same. Some restaurants serve them with pizza. They go very well with Italian bread. We always had them in our house when I was growing up and I have the Greek version in my fridge right now. My mom used to buy the round, cherry peppers too. They come in a jar and are either bright red or green. Those things are screaming hot, even if you had a pinhead amount! I don’t buy those. Surprisingly, peppers don’t give me heartburn although bell peppers repeat on me!

      Like

      • puppiesinparadise March 23, 2014 at 11:42 am #

        I did not mean to imply that you are not an connoiseur on peppers. It shows that any one can make such a mistake. I am very very cautious when tasting a new pepper. You are lucky that they don’t give you heartburn. I have a medical condition that distress my digestive system. I only use milder chili peppers when I cook now a days. I love Mexican, Korean, Indian… food all of which can be spicy. Thanks I have enjoyed browsing through your recipes on your blog. It is obvious that you enjoy the art of cooking.

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau March 23, 2014 at 1:59 pm #

          We’re good. I wouldn’t say I was a connoisseur of peppers. It sounds like you are though! I’m more of a connoisseur of pizza. I am sorry to hear about your medical condition. Maybe you could drink some milk before eating hot food? Might that help? I don’t know, I’ve never researched the problem but I know my dad used to drink milk to coat his stomach – I don’t remember why though. I do enjoy the art of cooking. No doubt about that one! Thank you for commenting.

          Like

          • puppiesinparadise March 24, 2014 at 8:51 am #

            I am far from an expert I promise. I apologize if it sounded like I was implying that. I meant no harm or disrespect.

            Milk to coat stomache might be worth a try.

            Like

            • Marcella Rousseau March 24, 2014 at 1:30 pm #

              Apology accepted. Thank you for sharing the tips on what to do if you accidentally touch your face (especially your eyes and nose) when handling peppers. I can imagine how painful that might be. It could be helpful to anyone who reads this post and I appreciate that because I do want the best for my readers. I tell them my slips and flubs because even though I am a very experienced cook, mistakes can still be made! I would like them to feel better about themselves, knowing that it isn’t so bad if they goof and maybe even have to throw out a dish, because things like that happen to everybody; even the most experienced cooks. I want readers to feel encouraged by what I write; not to feel intimidated or that they can’t measure up. That is why I include my mistakes in my posts. Besides, we learn from our mistakes. Mistakes are not a bad thing. I see them as a good thing! So, have a good day. Be happy.

              Like

  3. mikeakin1 March 21, 2014 at 9:23 pm #

    Thanks for the warning of not to bite into pepper for taste. :)

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau March 22, 2014 at 5:04 pm #

      I can’t believe I ate the whole thing! I don’t know what possessed me!

      Like

      • mikeakin1 March 22, 2014 at 5:55 pm #

        How hot was it? :)

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau March 23, 2014 at 1:43 pm #

          It was hot enough to take me by surprise! I was too busy unpacking groceries and rushing around to stop. I think it may have been the seeds that were hot. I’ve since not eaten any of the seeds so the peppers are just right for my palate. Peppers are funny though. You can have 2 of the same peppers side by side and one will be hot and the other mild. Also, the SAME pepper can be mild at the tip and hot near the stem!

          Like

          • mikeakin1 March 23, 2014 at 2:08 pm #

            The seeds I think do it.

            Like

            • Marcella Rousseau March 23, 2014 at 4:42 pm #

              Yep. How are you doing with your eating plan?

              Like

              • mikeakin1 March 23, 2014 at 4:50 pm #

                Well, I have not done well. The only thing good recently is that I got me a German Shepard pup that likes to walk. So I’m walking a lot and actually eating less, cutting down on my portions. I feel better, and hope people notice that I might be losing weight. :) Thanks for asking.

                Like

              • Marcella Rousseau March 24, 2014 at 1:04 pm #

                !!!! That’s a great idea that you had to get a dog and to walk! Kudos to you! I’m happy to hear that you’re feeling better too. That’s the main thing. Here is what helped me more than anything. I started to log my food into a website online everyday. Yes, it’s a bit tedious but I lost more than 10 pounds and I’ve kept it off. I’ve talked about this website before: http://www.caloriecount.com If you don’t want to use it, you could always jot down what you ate in a journal. This is a proven effective way to lost weight. For me it was better to use the website because it gave me the statistics I wanted regarding how much calcium, fiber, and protein I was getting. Also, how much cholesterol, fats, and sodium I was getting. It shows you when you’ve gone over the amount you should be getting (and under the amounts too, like for calcium). I would highly recommend this website to anyone. I hope you at least try it.

                Like

              • mikeakin1 March 24, 2014 at 2:57 pm #

                I will take a look at it on my next days off…thanks!

                Like

  4. Prince Greenhouses March 21, 2014 at 2:42 pm #

    I LOVE Chipotles in Adobo Sauce. I am making slow cooker beef barbacoa this weekend using chipotles in adobo sauce. (tastes like the same stuff at Chipotle) I use these so much in southwestern cooking, they are so good and the sauce just adds extra flavor. Good to know someone else is cooking with these too!!!!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau March 22, 2014 at 5:05 pm #

      Sounds delicious! Yes, it’s good to know you use them too! Are you planning to post your BBQ recipe on your blog?

      Like

      • Prince Greenhouses March 24, 2014 at 4:26 pm #

        I didn’t even think about it posting the recipe. I don’t know if I will in the near future but I might later in the summer when I’m doing more in season recipes but I can send you the recipe if you would like. :-)

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau March 24, 2014 at 6:04 pm #

          That’s very kind of you. I would love to have your recipe! Do you need my email address or do you know how to get it?

          Like

          • Prince Greenhouses March 24, 2014 at 6:35 pm #

            I will need your email, not sure how to get it. Thank you!!!

            Like

            • Marcella Rousseau March 24, 2014 at 11:11 pm #

              Go to your Dashboard. Click Site Stats. Scroll to the bottom where it says Followers. Click on the Blog link. My name and email address should be there. Well, it used to be there! I guess they did away with it. I’ll have to wait until you post the recipe on your blog!

              Like

  5. silverbells2012 March 21, 2014 at 2:33 pm #

    Glad it is warming up for you, anyway!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau March 22, 2014 at 4:58 pm #

      It warmed up for 1 day. Today it is cold again. 10 degrees below normal for this time of year. But it’s better than the S_ _ _ word although they say we might have some next week. Ugh!

      Like

  6. silverbells2012 March 21, 2014 at 2:33 pm #

    Sounds like you’ve had quite a feast! I just I could get my peppers to grow – don’t think they are as hots as yours seem to be!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau March 22, 2014 at 5:00 pm #

      I really liked these peppers. I might try another brand of the same kind to see if I like them any better. Growing peppers is a tricky proposition. I never had any luck with them.

      Like

      • silverbells2012 March 23, 2014 at 3:54 am #

        I think they might just be something I have to buy – but haven’t been able to source any organic ones.

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau March 23, 2014 at 1:35 pm #

          If I come across an organic one, I will let you know. You might try Amazon.com as they have just about everything!

          Like

          • silverbells2012 March 23, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

            Thank you!

            Like

            • Marcella Rousseau March 23, 2014 at 4:44 pm #

              I went to Meijer today and I didn’t see any organic Cipotle in Adobo sauce. I did go to Amazon.com and they have plenty. Many in powder form. I saw one in dried form and all you have to do is re-hydrate them. There were at least 20 maybe more varieties. You should be able to find something you like there!

              Like

              • silverbells2012 March 23, 2014 at 4:46 pm #

                Well, thank you very much, Marcella. That’s great news :-)

                Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Food Friday – Kasha, Groats, Buckwheat | For Your Good Health - April 18, 2014

    […] is good for when you crank up the barbecue. It would go well with my recipe for hot dogs with Chipotle in Adobo Sauce. Add a salad,  corn on the […]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

