New Food Friday – Chicory and Pomegranate

20 Dec

Right around this time of year, I make a special salad with chicory, pomegranate, grapefruit and orange slices. It’s very pretty, festive, and good for you! It’s called a Sicilian Salad and it’s perfect for this New Food Friday.

A Sicilian salad is very simple to make. Just tear up washed chicory leaves and put in a pretty bowl. Then, section one pink grapefruit and place the slices around the top of the chicory.

sxc.hu-Grapefruit-86484

Grapefruit (sxc.hu-Jason Merrill)

Do the same with an orange.

oranges (sxc.hu-Neil Gould)

Oranges (sxc.hu-Neil Gould)

The hardest part of making this salad is separating the pomegranate seeds from their nesting pockets! Either wear old clothing or an apron that covers you well. Pomegranate seeds squirt!

sxc.hu-Pomegranate-430625

Pomegranate Seeds (sxc.hu-Rick Hawkins)

The health benefits of Pomegranate

According to the Harvard Medical School Health publication, two recent studies suggest that pomegranate juice may help fight prostate cancer. Pomegranates may also have beneficial effects on cardiovascular disease. Results from two small clinical studies show that carotid artery thickness decreased and cardiac blood flow improved in pomegranate juice drinkers. However, preliminary research also suggests that pomegranate juice may interact with certain medications, much like grapefruit juice does. For further information click here.

A word about chicory.

Chicory tastes just like escarole. It’s a somewhat mildly bitter green. The difference between the two is that chicory has very curly leaves.

Chicory

Curly Chicory leaves torn into bite-sized pieces

Escarole has wavy leaves.

Escarole

Wavy Escarole leaves before being torn into bite-sized pieces

The Citrus

When you section the citrus, you have the option of slicing the sections so that there is no membrane on them. I wanted to keep them in their “skin” so that the dish would have the most fiber. I also didn’t want to lose any of the juices. But it’s up to you. It may be prettier if you section off the slices.

Sicilian Salad before Pomegranate Seeds

Sicilian Salad before Pomegranate Seeds

This is the finished dish before pouring on the dressing. 

Sicilian Salad with Pomegranate Seeds

Sicilian Salad with Pomegranate Seeds before salad dressing

You can add as much or as little pomegranate seeds as you like. I used about 1/3 of the pomegranate. You can prepare this the day before. It keeps very well as long as you don’t pour the dressing on.

The Salad Dressing

The dressing is made of freshly squeezed orange juice, olive oil, salt and pepper.Very simple! Use proportions that you like. I don’t measure, I just squeeze the juice on and then drizzle on the olive oil. I like it that way. In fact, that’s how I make all my salads. I like the separate taste of the oil on some bites and the separate taste of vinegar, or in this case, orange juice. It’s up to you.

Sicilian Salad is delicious! It’s good for you! It’s pretty! It’s Christmas-y! Try it on your guests this Christmas. And have a Merry Christmas and Happy Holiday Season!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

11 Responses to “New Food Friday – Chicory and Pomegranate”

  1. bragnbutter December 31, 2013 at 7:37 am #

    Hey Marcella, this looks really crunchy and delicious! I love the combination of bitter and sweet. As you gave me some good advice recently, I’m happy to share my pomegranate-deseeding-method (which is really not mine, I saw Nigella Lawson do it): cut the pomegranate in half horizontally, then smack it with a wooden spoon over a bowl – the seeds pop out and there’s no white surroundings left on them, also this produces almost no spilling.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau December 31, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

      Hey thanks! I knew there was a way but I couldn’t remember what I had heard. I just hope I don’t hit it so hard that I send it flying. Sometimes I don’t know my own strength! LOL!

      Like

  2. P. C. Zick December 26, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

    I’ve missed your posts in my feed. Hope you’re having a wonderful holiday season.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau December 27, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

      It would have been more wonderful if I hadn’t had a root canal, crown, and another crown and probable root canal coming up as soon as I find another insurance company since mine dropped their dental coverage the end of this year. Into each life a little rain must fall! It hurts most in the pocketbook ; – (

      Like

  3. silverbells2012 December 22, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    Long time no see! Your salad looks lovely… Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you!!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau December 22, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

      Thank you! Wish I had some salad right now but it’s all gone. A Merry and a Happy to you too. We have been having record rainfall and flooding here. Now we’ll probably have another drought for the summer to make up for all the rain : – ( But I’m glad it wasn’t snow!

      Like

      • silverbells2012 December 23, 2013 at 2:11 am #

        Yes, glad it wasn’t snow! It is supposed to be up to 100 mile an hour winds here today but so far I hear nothing. Fingers crossed it stays that way ;-)

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau January 6, 2014 at 6:56 pm #

          Well, I spoke too soon. We are recovering from the second heaviest snowfall ever recorded here. Now we are having temperatures in the minus 12 degrees. What next? I went to the grocery store before all this mess started a few days ago at 10:30am, thinking that nobody would be in the store that early. Hah! All the lines were long and there were no carts available; they were all being used! Apparently they were thinking the same thing as me! I had to use one of those little carry-baskets which didn’t hold much. We were supposed to have 40 mph winds but they didn’t last very long, Thank God! Now it’s just the frigid, bitter cold until Wednesday. 36,000 people are without power. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I don’t lose mine. My son says his power goes on and off. I told him to go to a shelter but he never listens to me. I might as well talk to the wall. When his power went out, he drove to the store to get candles because his flashlight didn’t work. He blew a tire. That’s all I needed to hear with these sheet of ice roads. I think he has 9 lives.

          Like

          • silverbells2012 January 11, 2014 at 4:40 pm #

            Hopefully, you haven’t lost your power?

            Ah, a mother’s worries! I know where you are coming from on that one lol.

            Like

            • Marcella Rousseau January 11, 2014 at 7:04 pm #

              Lost my power? I think you have to have some power before you can lose it!

              Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Winter Salads | jovinacooksitalian - January 2, 2014

    […] New Food Friday – Chicory and Pomegranate (marcellarousseau.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 353 other followers