The Itsy Bitsy Spider….is not so Itsy Bitsy!

30 Oct

For about a month now, a black and yellow spider has camped out in my vegetable garden. He gives new meaning to the words, “spider plant.”

I’ve seen it spin it’s web

Spider Web

Spider Web (sxc.hu -Tinneketin)

around prey and I’ve noticed the spider grow in size (much to my dismay). I’ve never seen a spider like this before and I thought about getting rid of it, but it’s just so pretty!

I have no idea if it’s poisonous or not. It seems to stay in the same place, behind my house, in the backyard, in the vegetable garden.

Halloween Night

Halloween Night in my Backyard (sxc.hu -nvadim)

 

Soon I will have to remove all my withered, spent tomato plants (where Mr. Spider is hanging out as you can see from the photo below).

Black and Yellow Spider

Black and Yellow Spider in my Garden!

Does anybody have any idea how to remove a spider?

Maybe I’ll just let him stay and I’ll be the one to move!

Witch on a Broom

Witch in Flight (fleeing a spider perhaps?) (sxc.hu – angood)

Jack O' Lantern

Jack O’ Lantern (sxc.hu -xRaDx)

                                    

HELP!!!  Spiders are not for my good health!
Happy Halloween!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

4 Responses to “The Itsy Bitsy Spider….is not so Itsy Bitsy!”

  1. Gerard Villanueva October 30, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    That is a unusual and beautiful looking spider. Maybe you can somehow get it in a box (with a stick?) to transport it to a part of your yard that is more out of your way. I wonder how it handles freezing weather?

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau October 31, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

      I agree, unusual and very attractive if you can say that about a spider. Getting it into a box with a stick would creep me out – brave as I am! Thank you for the suggestion. Fortunately, I wrote this post a week ago and two days later, I was out picking the last of my tomatoes and I must have disturbed it somehow because I couldn’t see it anymore. It was there when I started but it was gone when I finished picking. The next day I had to remove all the withered tomato plants and the onion and garlic chives that literally took over my garden. They were very dense and I didn’t trust that the spider left his home so I wore long rubber gloves while pulling up all the chives. What a job that was. I never did see the spider again. How strange is that? I would have said he must have read my post but it was before I published it! I’m very glad I didn’t have to take more drastic measures. I wouldn’t have felt good about that. I just never know what creature is going to visit me in my yard. I could write a book!

      Like

  2. cathsveggies1 October 30, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

    I absolutely love this post….Incy Wincy Spider…..lol Happy Samhain :)

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

