Exercise: I Talk the Talk and I Walk the Walk

8 Oct

It’s been quite a while since I’ve written a post about exercising. I’m sure you won’t be surprised at what I’m about to tell you. (Although it surprised me!)

I was acknowledged for doing the most workouts at my health club for the month of August.

Marcy at top of the list

Marcy at the Top of the List

See my name at the top of the list?

I wasn’t aiming to claim the most visits and I wasn’t keeping track even though some members at the club don’t believe me. A new doctor I had been seeing recommended I workout AT LEAST 5 times a week! To me, this translated into doing more than 5 times a week so I was at the club everyday it was open: 6 days a week. I did that for 2 1/2 weeks straight and I didn’t take the 7th day off when I was home!

How was it? It was exhausting! Are they serious? What senior citizen can continually exercise at that pace? Maybe if they didn’t put much effort into their workouts but my workouts aren’t like that. I put my all into it. I’m known at my club as the person who works out the hardest. Really, it’s more of a social club for a lot of the members. I hope their social friends visit them when they’re in the hospital recovering from illnesses due to their lack of exercise!

So, there has to be a balance here. It should be taken into account how seriously you exercise! Plus, I don’t exercise for 30 minutes. I figure since I’m there, I’m going to exercise until I’m tired and that is usually 50 minutes and, depending on which gym I’ve been going to and the equipment they have, as long as 1 hr and 15 minutes. I think doctors need to ask their patients about this. Or, maybe I need to volunteer this information the next time at my appointment since I seem to be stereotyped: Senior = Sedentary.

MY GOALS

I’ve been working on increasing my upper body strength in the past few months and the effort shows. My biceps have increased .25% while I’ve slowly continued to lose weight. I’m still using the caloriecount website and I don’t know if I can ever do without it! I am seriously hooked on it because it has been so beneficial to me!

The reason I’ve been working on my upper body strength is that women in general, are known to have poor upper body strength and I’ve always wanted to do a chin up. So far, I can master a chin up half way. This is a new goal for me. I like to challenge myself and I am always seeking new exercise goals to keep things interesting and to have something to achieve.

Since April of this year, I put together a warm-up routine for myself that I do now every time I exercise. It is about 6 minutes long and involves a variety of arm movements but also leg and ab movements too. I am crediting this routine for healing my shoulder issues that had dragged on for over 2 years! I will write up and post the routine in a future post. You may want to try it. If it worked for me, it may work for you.

Recently, I saw a 75-year-old female body builder on TV. She was lean and didn’t look anywhere near 75! She was inspirational! I was telling one of the gals at my club about her and I said that the body builder was my idol to which she replied, “You’re MY idol!” I got a kick out of that. Hey, that’s OK with me. That’s what this blog is all about:  talking the talk AND walking the walk; reaching that goal at the end of the rainbow!

sxc.hu/cempey - Colorful Rainbow Shot

sxc.hu/cempey – Rainbow Gold Goal!

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

10 Responses to “Exercise: I Talk the Talk and I Walk the Walk”

  1. Sugarcrush October 12, 2013 at 7:23 pm #

    Great post, Marcella. I’m in my 60’s and was told 4 years ago after a couple of dexascans that I had a slight bone loss. In addition, I had mild nerve damage in my arms due to occupational injury before I retired. In 2011 I joined a local gym, and I work out 3-4 times a week. I’ve always been a walker, but I needed more than just long brisk walks. Since then, I’ve gained core body and arm strength…unfortunately, also a few pounds, as muscle weighs more than fat. That’s to be expected. But I still wear the same size clothes, although they fit me differently due to redistribution of my shape. Actually, they fit better than they did before I started hitting the gym. I can’t impress on people enough about the benefits of exercise…it improves your health on so many levels, especially the older you get.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau October 13, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

      We have a lot in common. According to my health club, (I get measured and weighed once a month) I’ve lost 11.25 lbs. I lost inches everywhere. I keep thinking there’s a 6-pack under the fat! Even though I’m within my BMI range now where I’m supposed to be, I still think I can afford to lose a few more lbs.so I continue to log in my food items everyday and try to stick to 1600 calories. Congratulations on being health aware and kudos to you for working out. I couldn’t agree more that it improves your health on so many levels. But if it was made mandatory, I’d have nothing to write about on this blog! ; – )

      Thank you for leaving a comment. Have a great day!

      Like

  2. oawritingspoemspaintings October 8, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    Wow! I do feel lazy after such a energetic post :) I always push exercising for another day and another….

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau October 9, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

      Some day that laziness could jump up and bite you! You could walk in a park and get inspired to paint and/or write about what you see. You don’t have to go at my pace. My pace is just me. I’ve been doing this a long time. Exercise has become a habit for me. It’s always on my mind. And it makes me happy too. Don’t wait until your doctor tells you that you HAVE to exercise and/or take medication. Take baby steps towards exercising. It’s good that you’ve read my post. I know you have an interest in exercise otherwise you wouldn’t have commented. ; – )

      Like

      • oawritingspoemspaintings October 9, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

        I do feel always guilty about not doing it which is not very constructive as it never triggered any change… but I console myself with the fact that I’m on a very rigid macrobiotic lifestyle which compensates…my allergies are dormant and my asthma too, the icing on the cake would be exercising :)

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau October 10, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

          It sounds like we’re in agreement then. The studies about the benefits of exercise are overwhelmingly convincing. All I can tell you is that it’s done wonders for me! I’m glad to hear that your allergies are dormant. I wish I could say the same! Mine have been worse this year. I always have a tissue in my hand or in my pocket. It’s worse when I lie down: my eyes start tearing.

          I lost 4 more pounds and I’m having trouble keeping my pants up! LOL! I never lost weight sensibly before. I always either cut out a meal or starved myself. I’m planning to make this a permanent difference.

          Thanks for leaving a comment ; – )

          Like

          • oawritingspoemspaintings October 11, 2013 at 5:29 am #

            Many years ago when I was on weight- watchers I was in the same position as yours… I lost all my weight sensibly but was having all my allergies just the same bc I was not cutting the foods that were harmful to me but being Macrobiotic changed all that, I lost once again my excess weight but this time round with my health as a bonus.
            Maybe we should learn something from each other’s experiences ;)

            Like

            • Marcella Rousseau October 11, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

              Many years ago I bought the Weight Watchers cookbook! I still have it. They were on the right track. My allergies are ragweed, dust, and mold. And ink from newspapers always makes me sneeze. When I’m in a dentist’s office, my eyes start tearing (and not from pain, ha!) or if I’m near an air conditioning or heating vent and it’s blowing on me, I’ll be tearing. I live next to an abandoned house. The occupants both passed away. The city has been taking care of the property but not doing a very good job of it. There is an above ground pool that wasn’t covered so it brought lots of mosquitoes. The weeds in their backyard were up to my shoulders and began invading my backyard and I think this has a lot to do with my increased allergies of late. However, allergists have stated that allergy problems are on the increase. I imagine the crazy weather patterns we’ve been having have something to do with it.

              I’ve read up on allergies from foods several years ago. I’ve tried stopping certain foods and then re-introducing them but nothing made a difference. So, for me it doesn’t seem to be food related. It’s not so bad that I need to take medication or see a doctor but when I first moved to the Midwest, I had terrible sinus problems! When I called my doctor, he said, “Welcome to the Midwest!” Really, allergy clinics are all over this city. It’s a booming business! Since I’ve bumped up my exercise routine, I drink a lot more water. I think the water has helped me a lot!

              Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Knee Pain – One Simple Exercise to Get Rid of It! | For Your Good Health - October 25, 2014

    […] Eventually, I joined a health club and used their leg extension machines until I was using 65 lb weights. But I s-l-o-w-l-y built up to this over the years. It didn’t happen overnight! […]

    Like

  2. My Favorite Low Impact Cardio Exercises | For Your Good Health - October 2, 2014

    […] enthusiast for a long time now, but there are times that I can’t go to the gym. Maybe I’m between health clubs, maybe the car is being repaired, maybe the snow is two feet deep. I’m sure you can come up with […]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

