A Gander at the Inside of My Grander/Vitamin D News

14 Aug

I wanted to post this yesterday but I was too tired. I’ve been working out every day now but that’s a whole other post for when I have more time!

I’ll get right to it: the taste of my Grander (Heirloom) tomato! It was dense, it was juicy, it was mild, it had few seeds, the skin was not tough….I loved it!  I think it would make great tomato sauce and from the looks of the vine and all the tomatoes, I will be able to do just that.

I decided to make my mother’s recipe of tuna, celery, hard-boiled egg, and mayo salad sandwich to showcase my Heirloom tomato. First, chop up a stalk of celery.

Celery Chopped

Celery Chopped

Chop up a hard-boiled egg.

Hard-Boiled Egg Chopped

Egg Chopped

Chop (or mash) a can of Starkist Select Low Sodium Chunk Light in Water tuna.

Low Sodium Tuna Chopped

Low Sodium Tuna Chopped

Why this particular variety of tuna?

Starkist Selects Chunk Light Tuna in Water-Low Sodium

Starkist Selects Chunk Light Tuna in Water-Low Sodium

It contains Vitamin D – 15% of your DV per serving or two ounces. (More about this below.)

Add your favorite mayonnaise. I like Kraft with Olive Oil but I also like the low calorie mayo too. Add two tablespoons and stir well.

I don’t add anything else because the tuna is salty even though it is low sodium and the yolk of the egg contains sodium. I don’t want to push my sodium limits.

Next, get two slices of Brownberry Health Nut bread.

Brownberry Health Nut Bread

Brownberry Health Nut Bread

Why? Each slice of this bread has 10% of your DV of Vitamin D.

Health Nut Bread Nutritional Facts

Health Nut Bread Nutritional Facts

Recently I was told by my doctor that a blood test showed that I was low in Vitamin D. I showed 28 when a normal reading would be 50. My doctor wants me to be at 70! She prescribed a supplement AND a multi-vitamin. If you know anything about me, you know that I don’t like to take pills of any kind unless it’s absolutely necessary. I think what she prescribed was overkill AND I would have preferred if she tried to coach me into making changes to my diet to get the Vitamin D I needed. So, I made the changes myself and did not take the supplements or multi-vitamin pills.

I drink almond milk with Vitamin D, orange juice with Vitamin D, eat Total cereal with Vitamin D, tuna, salmon, sardines, Smart Balance Buttery Spread with Olive Oil, Eggland’s Best Eggs, Brownberry Health Nut bread, Ronzoni Smart Taste Pasta, Shiitake mushrooms, Yoplait Greek 100 Fat-free Tropical Fruit yogurt, also Vanilla, Peach, and other flavors, non-fat dry milk….these all contain Vitamin D and I rotate them into my diet so that at the end of each day, I have had my daily requirement of Vitamin D.  *This list of Vitamin D foods will continuously be updated as I learn about foods that contain the vitamin.

Too much Vitamin D can be LETHAL! Not enough Vitamin D can cause rickets and soft bones. Vitamin D is needed to promote bone growth. Vitamin D deficiency has been linked to breast cancer, colon cancer and more maladies. We hear a lot about calcium, but Vitamin D is just as important.

Bread makers asked for permission to add a vitamin D yeast to their breads so that they could list Vitamin D in their ingredients. They were given the OK. I had to look through 20 loaves of bread at Meijer to find this one loaf of bread with Vitamin D! I even asked the bread deliverer and he had never heard of bread with Vitamin D and said he would ask his boss. Too late, I already found one but I’m sure there are more out there! If you find another brand of bread with Vitamin D, please let me and my readers know! Thanks!

OK, I reviewed the Heirloom tomato, it’s time to review the Brownberry Health Nut bread. It was bland. Next time I’ll toast it to see if that helps. The next day I made the same sandwich with the leftover tuna-egg salad and Heirloom tomato on Rye bread. What a world of difference! It tasted better but of course I didn’t get the Vitamin D from the Rye bread.

Here are the results of my bread, tuna-egg salad sandwich:

Heirloom Tomato Slice

Heirloom Tomato Slice

The tomato slice covers the entire slice of bread!

Tuna Salad Open-faced

Tuna Salad Open-faced

There is plenty of tuna-egg salad to pile on thickly.

Completed Tuna Salad Sandwich

Completed Tuna Salad Sandwich

In case you’re wondering what the greenery is in my sandwich, it’s escarole. As I said in another post, I love escarole and use it in sandwiches.

This is a nutritious, high protein lunch that helps you get your Vitamin D. It was good! Try it!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

7 Responses to “A Gander at the Inside of My Grander/Vitamin D News”

  1. Gerard Villanueva August 16, 2013 at 7:36 am #

    Thanks for the info on vitaman D. I also had it lacking last time I went for a check up. I don’t enjoy taking pills either so now I’m looking at the shitake mushrooms and more orange juice to add to my diet. I’ve been avoiding the sun (source of vitamin D) lately
    because of the high heat this summer. Glad to hear the heirlooms got a good rating! Sandwiches are one of my favorite ways to use tomatoes.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 23, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

      I think Vitamin D deficiency is more common than we might think! It may become even more common since we are now told to avoid the sun. I’ve always avoided the sun because I’m very fair skinned although I don’t have the skin reaction I had when I was younger: red bumps, itching.

      Smart Balance buttery spread also contains Vitamin D. I added that to the post. These heirlooms have become my favorite tomato!

      Like

  2. saminaiqbal27 August 14, 2013 at 11:02 pm #

    Very healthy and full of vitamins. I will surely try this one since I like all the ingredients that have been used. Thanks for sharing another healthy recipe.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 15, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

      Hi! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. Some people like to add chopped pickles or relish to the salad. I don’t because it’s too much sodium for me. Others like to add curry powder. I think chopped golden raisins would be a good addition – sweet and salty always goes together plus you would get a dose of potassium from them. I tried the Brownberry Health Nut bread toasted for breakfast this morning. It was much better toasted so I recommend you toast it when you try it!

      Like

      • saminaiqbal27 August 15, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

        I will definitely toast my bread since I like it well toasted and add chopped golden raisins which are my favourite and I always have them available. Thanks. This summer heat simply got to me and I have not been able to do much. Other bloggers also complained about the summer blogging blues. Now it’s fine and I feel much more energetic. Take care.

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau August 23, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

          Yes, a lot of people have been complaining about the heat. We’ve been very lucky in Indiana so far because it has been cooler than usual for the summer. However, our luck is about to change because they are predicting 90 degree weather next week and we haven’t had any rain for 12 straight days. I’ve been watering my tomato plants and my herbs everyday. I’ve heard about fires raging in so many states, probably due to a lack of rain. It’s almost fall so hopefully things will improve. I’m glad you’re feeling more energetic. I don’t like it when I have no energy. Usually, my lack of energy comes from a lack of sleep.Drink a lot of water! Have a great day!

          Like

          • saminaiqbal27 August 24, 2013 at 3:01 am #

            Thank you so much for the reply my friend. I agree lack of sleep and not drinking enough water may be responsible for my lack of energy. As the weather is improving I am feeling much much better. And I have started to drink a lot of water since I was concentrating on fruit juices only. Water is the best thing one can have. Thank you so much and see you soon. Take care and have a lovely weekend.

            Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

