It’s A Grander!

11 Aug

OK, a Grander is a big sailfish and I’m talking about my tomato so I exaggerated a little.

Just a quick post since it’s already past 8:00 pm. Where did the day go? I had visions of writing so many things in this post and/or writing multiple posts and now I’m pushing it to write just this one since I have 4 clean loads of laundry on my bed waiting to be sorted and put away.

Back to my Grander. This summer I decided to plant heirloom tomatoes. I bought just one heirloom plant from Meijer. These things took off like gangbusters! I have never seen a tomato plant be so energetic. I did fertilize it a lot but I fertilized all my other tomato plants too and they haven’t run rampant on me like this one although they look healthy and productive.

Enough talk, here’s a photo. This was the first tomato to fruit from this plant. You should see the main stem! I’m going to have a heck of a time pulling it out of the ground when the season is over.

See, I’m just a frustrated writer who wants to write. Shut up Marcy and show them the tomato already! OK!

Heirloom Tomato - 14.5 oz

Heirloom Tomato – 14.5 oz

This is the biggest tomato I have ever grown! I’m getting a good yield from this plant and it’s barely mid-August. I haven’t tasted it yet. I plucked it because I didn’t want to take the chance that it might fall off and be eaten by bugs. I’ll let you know how it tastes.

Tomorrow tuna and egg salad sandwich with escarole leaves and fat slices of this tomato on rye. I promise to eat a slice on the side, lightly salted so as not to take anything away from the taste. Please heirloom tomato, don’t disappoint!

One of the big differences with heirloom tomatoes is that they are not as disease resistant as other hybrid tomato plants. Hybrid tomatoes generally have an inbred resistance to tobacco mosaic disease, but heirlooms don’t. Heirlooms are plants with seeds that have been handed down from generation to generation, just like heirloom jewelry and furniture! Heirloom tomato plants are known to have a flavor that is complex and rich. My mouth is watering! If it’s as good as it’s cracked up to be, I will be planting it from now on – inbred disease resistance be damned! I favor flavor!

OK, I’m off to watch TV whilst I fold and put away all my laundry. No rest for the weary! Cheerio!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

6 Responses to “It’s A Grander!”

  1. silverbells2012 August 14, 2013 at 4:45 am #

    I know the feeling re laundry on the bed waiting to be sorted. I constantly forget until I am just about to get into it!!

    Like

  2. Gerard Villanueva August 12, 2013 at 7:13 am #

    Incredible, I’d like to know how you fix them up. Or if you decide to do some preserving or pickling, please let us know about it!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 14, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

      Hi Gerard, I just published a post on the taste, etc. of the Heirloom and combined it with info about Vitamin D. Lots of photos too. I’ve got lots more tomatoes on this vine but none are as big as this first one. I think I’ll fertilize it some more to help them along!

      Like

  3. cathsveggies1 August 12, 2013 at 6:36 am #

    WOW……That’s a Whopper. Enjoy it ;)

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 14, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

      Heheh! It is a whopper isn’t it? It was very juicy and good. No wonder it was handed down from generation to generation. I have to hurry up and finish this one because another one is ready to be plucked! LOL! I sometimes add tomatoes to a baked chicken/potato/onion dish that I make with lots of spices. I think I’ll do that tomorrow. Cheers!

      Like

What is your take on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 347 other followers