New Food Friday – Ataulfo Mango Curd

21 Jun

I’m a fan of chef Rachel Allen and recently she prepared a dish called Lemon Curd on her PBS show.  It looked delicious and as I tried to google the recipe, I came across someone else’s recipe for Mango curd. Since I already had a couple of mangoes in the house, I decided to make the mango curd instead. And that’s what led me to this Friday’s New Food Friday.

Mango Trees

Mango Trees (sxc.hu/asifthebes)

I think the more popular mangos are the pretty red and green ones but my local Meijer also stocks the smaller, yellow Ataulfo mangoes. Don’t overlook these because they are small. In actuality, there is more meat to pit ratio. In my experience there is no taste difference and they ripen better.

Mango Branch sxc.hu sonnyleon 482816

Mango Branch (sxc.hu sonnyleon )

This is what the finished curd looks like. It’s a pretty yellow color and creamy. To me, the curd tastes like a cross between a pineapple and a lemon cream.

Mango Curd3

Mango Curd

It keeps in the fridge for a couple of weeks, maybe more.

Mango Curd Closeup

Mango Curd Closeup

I like mango curd on blueberry bagels for breakfast but you can spread it on toast, English muffins, scones, the possibilities are endless.

Mango Curd on Blueberry Bagel

Mango Curd on Blueberry Bagel

Store bought lemon or mango curd is expensive and they don’t always have the best ingredients in them. I’ve seen some jars go for over $7.00.  Some jar ingredients don’t even contain egg yolks, a key ingredient in mango curd or most curds. The egg yolk is what helps to make the curd a good, nutritious breakfast food.

As with most recipes, the ingredients can vary. Some people add lime juice. I made mine with lemon juice.

2 ripe Ataulfo mangoes

3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1/2 cup sugar

4 large egg yolks

4 tablespoons butter cut into pieces

pinch salt (if you are using salted butter, omit salt)

Wash then peel the mangoes  cut into pieces and scrape all the fruit off the pit using every last drop. Add the lemon juice, the sugar, the salt if you are using it, and blend in a food processor. I used my immersion blender and the carafe it came with. Puree. 

Now add the egg yolks and purée 15 seconds longer. The recipe I used (from Epicurious) said to strain the ingredients through a sieve. I didn’t see any need for this but it’s up to you.

Pour pureed ingredients into a bowl and place the bowl on top of a pan of simmering water. DON’T LET THE WATER TOUCH THE BOTTOM OF THE BOWL. Wisk or stir (I stirred) until thickened, about 10 minutes or until a thermometer reaches 170 F degrees. Remove the bowl from the pan and stir in butter, one piece at a time.

You can cover the curd with plastic wrap so a “skin” doesn’t form on top. I let mine cool and then poured it into a jar, let it cool some more, then screwed a lid on and put in the fridge. When it cooled, some water had formed on the lid and I wiped the water off. 

I saved my egg whites in canning jars and froze them. I will use them for baking breads to give them a nice shine. If you do this, allow the egg whites to defrost completely in the fridge. You could also make a white omelet with the egg whites.

I hope you try this.  You use fresh fruit, fresh egg yolks, and fresh butter. It’s delicious, nutritious, and avoids all the preservatives and other unpronounceable ingredients in store-bought curd. 

Once you try this, you will want to make other curds. I know I do!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

10 Responses to “New Food Friday – Ataulfo Mango Curd”

  1. katharynep August 6, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    I have several Ataulfo trees in my yard and I have been looking for recipes. Thank you

    • Marcella Rousseau August 11, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

      You’re welcome! And you’re so lucky to have them growing in your yard!

  2. saminaiqbal27 June 25, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

    I love mangoes and this recipe is going to be delicious and healthy. I am going to try it. Thanks for sharing.

    • Marcella Rousseau June 29, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

      It was easy to make. Just be careful about setting it over the boiling water so you don’t end up with scrambled eggs. I was happy with the results and I used a little bit almost every day until it was gone.

      • saminaiqbal27 June 29, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

        Yes I did end up making scrambled eggs the first time, being a little impatient by nature. But the next day I was careful and everything turned out really good. Eggs and mangoes are both my weaknesses. The recipe is so simple yet so refreshing. Thank you so much for sharing.

        • Marcella Rousseau June 29, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

          Oh, I’m sorry you had a problem the first time. But you’ll never make that mistake again ; – ) I’m glad the second time it turned out good for you! I’m happy to share.

          • saminaiqbal27 June 29, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

            I will not make the same mistake again since I love this recipe of my favorite mangoes and eggs. Thanks once again for sharing. Take care

  3. tchistorygal June 22, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    That looks and sounds yummy! :)

    • Marcella Rousseau June 23, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

      It is very good! I’ve been having it on rye bread toast for breakfast nearly everyday with bacon/eggs/OJ. Great combination! A little goes a long way ; – )

      • tchistorygal June 23, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

        That sounds very healthy minus the cholesterol :)

What is your take on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

