Signs of Spring: Wet Rains, Weeds, and Wandering Plants

25 May

My garden is looking pretty and I’ve pulled a lot of weeds to get it to look that way!

Irises

Irises

We’ve had a lot of rain – like every other day. We’ve also had a roller coaster ride of temperatures, from low 40’s to mid-80’s.  It keeps going up and down!

First Rose of Spring

First Rose of Spring

When it’s cool, I make sure I get out in the backyard and get to work!

Flowering Thyme2

Flowering Thyme

I’ve had to mow the lawn weekly, unlike last spring/summer when we had the drought and I didn’t have to mow at all!

Boxwood

Boxwood

My neighbor’s lawn service shaved my Columbine flowers to the quick last summer but fortunately they came back full bloom. A resilient flower that mimics a resilient town in Colorado. When they spread out some more, I will transplant some to the front yard.

Columbine Flower

Columbine Flower

Half of the seeds I sowed in my vegetable garden died due to frost. FROST! In MAY! So, I went out yesterday and planted more seeds. My Cilantro survived though and it’s the first time I planted Cilantro.  Let’s hope there are no more frosts!

I have plants growing in my front yard also. Two of them,  I don’t know where they came from. One looks like a fir tree and it’s about 4 inches tall.  When it gets a little bigger, I’ll transplant it to my backyard. The other plant is a common spider plant. I transplanted it indoors last summer and the plant died. So, I was shocked to see another spider plant out front in the same spot where I removed the first one! The more I think I know about plants, the more they surprise me.

If you’re not growing a garden, you’re missing a lot of fun, good exercise, and Vitamin D.  It’s never too late to get started.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

4 Responses to “Signs of Spring: Wet Rains, Weeds, and Wandering Plants”

  1. angelswhisper2011 May 26, 2013 at 4:11 am #

    I love gardening too, Marcy, but also here in Holland we have lots of rain and it seems winter has begun again, so I hope the plants will be allright after the cold :)

    Like

  2. Marcella Rousseau May 30, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

    ; – )

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rain, Rain | sojournable - July 6, 2013

    […] Signs of Spring: Wet Rains, Weeds, and Wandering Plants (marcellarousseau.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Rhubarb and asparagus make welcome return to table » Well Blogger Me - May 29, 2013

    […] Signs of Spring: Wet Rains, Weeds, and Wandering Plants (marcellarousseau.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

