Spring Blows Away New Food Friday

21 Mar

Spring is now here, at least according to the calendar. Here in Indianapolis we are having a cold snap with freezing temperatures and cold winds!

I have been having a nice “rest” (???) this winter because we have had little snow so there was no shoveling of the pretty white stuff (or in my case, sweeping because I use a straw broom that I prefer over a shovel.)

Spring means opening the windows and letting in the fresh air while I pollute my indoors with cleaning products to do my spring cleaning!

sxc.hu julosstock Super Woman

Super Woman Marcella in Cleaning Gear  sxc.hu julosstock

It means getting my lawn mower fixed (finally). Or, shopping for a new one if it can’t be fixed. It means:

mowing

planting

transplanting

weeding

pruning

sawing (the more stubborn branches)

edging

digging

hauling (dead limbs, trees, etc.)

watering

mulching

fertilizing

shopping (for seeds, tools, fertilizers, etc.)

gluing (my bathroom wallpaper)

painting

sanding

sweeping (the garage, the leaves, etc.)

Whew! Did I miss anything? I’m sure I did. I’ll be busy as a bee.

sxc.hu YOdesigner Busy Bee

Busy Bee Marcella   sxc.hu YOdesigner

In other words, the sad truth is that New Food Friday is going on hiatus.  Instead of every week, New Food Friday will now be every month, unless I find a product or new food that I just can’t wait to tell you about. You can expect the next New Food Friday April 19th.

New Food Friday may be on hiatus but what about me?

The upside of all this spring cleaning is that it means more exercise for me. I know, for me it’s an upside, can you imagine that?

Whirling Dervish Dancer

Whirling Dervish Dancer (Photo credit: Sarah_Ackerman)

With any luck, I also hope to have more time to write about articles concerning a variety of health issues.

I wonder if I could hire a Whirling Dervish to do my windows?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

12 Responses to “Spring Blows Away New Food Friday”

  1. bananabunches March 29, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    Hi Marcella. Yes Spring is taking a while to hit the UK thanks to the melting sea ice in the Arctic. Couldn’t help picking up on your comment about polluting indoors to do your spring cleaning – why not use natural cleaning products instead, like lemon, vinegar, bicarbonate of soda, etc. Many of them are just as effective as their shop-bought counterparts but with no nasty chemicals or pollutants. Vinegar and newspaper cleans windows and glass like a dream! There’s lots more tips online. Thanks for the like on my blog. Happy Easter!

    • Marcella Rousseau March 29, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

      Hi, Today is actually the first day it felt like Spring outside and it was very pleasant! Oh, about my polluting the indoors, I was making a joke, taking poetic license if you will. I use vinegar for kitchen cleanups all the time. I did buy a special cleaner for my wood doors, cabinetry, and baseboards so I will have to open the windows when I use that. But you know, even vinegar smells bad if you use too much! I use it to clean my shower walls too. Those are good tips! I can tell you this, ants are not fond of vinegar ; – )

  2. camparigirl March 22, 2013 at 11:04 pm #

    Well, I will miss new food Friday!

    • Marcella Rousseau March 23, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

      Thank you : – ) Maybe at some point I will be able to do it weekly again, but it just isn’t possible now. I’ve been struggling with it for weeks and now I’m having car problems on top of everything else so I feel I made the right decision to do it monthly. I’ll miss it too – I had fun doing it.

  3. silverbells2012 March 22, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

    Funnily enough, I’ve just written a post about how spring is having trouble getting started in Britain. Good luck with the spring cleaning (I need to do plenty of that!) and I look forward to 19th April.

    • Marcella Rousseau March 22, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

      The reluctant spring seems to be going around! I bought some new cleaning products that I’m anxious to try. I’ve got so many things to do, I don’t know which to do first! My fence is falling down in the front yard. Maybe I should take care of that first so that I don’t get sued if someone trips over it! It either falls towards the house or it falls towards the sidewalk. Right now, I’ve got a big heavy rock propping it up so that it doesn’t fall towards the house. It’s leaning pretty heavily towards the sidewalk now! I’ll have to build up the soil to keep it propped up or maybe buy some rebar. Otherwise, I don’t have a clue. Maybe the people at my local Menards could help me with that.

      Thank you for looking forward to the 19th. As of this moment, I can’t say that I am! LOL! What is that expression? How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time! ; – )

  4. P. C. Zick March 22, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    I’m still waiting to open those windows. And since it’s March 21 and 25 degrees here in western Pennsylvania, I’m waiting impatiently. Luckily, my day job is one I do from home, but I’m itching to get out in nature to do research. I’ll miss seeing your Friday posts, but I understand. It will make the once a month post all the more special, too.

    • Marcella Rousseau March 22, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

      Yes, our nights are in the 20′s here in Indy. I know what’s going to happen. We’re going to have a short spring. It’ll go from winter to summer! I’ve seen that before! Which will leave me with little time to get the things done that I need to get done! I finally got my oil changed today. I went to Jiffy Lube and I think that was a mistake. I’ve never waited this long to get it changed. They also told me a tail light was out and a low beam headlight. I told the girl I didn’t want the headlight done. They started working on it anyway! I went out there and asked how they were doing. When I discovered they were trying to put in a new headlight but were having trouble doing it, I told them I didn’t want it. They didn’t like that. They left a 5″ grease mark on my front seat. I managed to get it off when I got home. I may have to write about this in a post. When I put the car in the garage, I smelled burning rubber. I called my regular mechanic and I’m bringing the car in to them Monday morning. I thought I would have the oil change behind me and could get on with other things I need to do. Now I’ve got to find out what they screwed up and hope that it doesn’t cost me too much to repair it! I’ve also got a root canal that needs taking care of and 2 crowns. When it rains, it pours.

      But thank you for missing my NFF posts. It’s nice to be missed. I’ve got part of the NFF already written but I just need some photos. Usually that is the most time-consuming part of my posts. I’m darn picky about them! lol! Which reminds me, I haven’t asked for permission yet to use the photos! I better do that now before I forget! ciao!

  5. Gerard Villanueva March 21, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    I ALWAYS look forward to your fun “New Food Friday”. It also kind of marks the beginning of the weekend for me! Austin, Texas has been enjoying nice moderate spring weather this year, which means a visit to “Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center” is overdue. Their website http://www.wildflower.org has lots of interesting information and fun facts for gardeners, conservationists, and native plant admirers.

    • Marcella Rousseau March 21, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

      Thank you Gerard. I look forward to writing it. But lately time is an issue and rather than stop it altogether, I’m going to try writing it monthly. I’m glad I can start your weekend off on a good note! I will take a look at the wildflower link. Thanks for the info!

  6. angelswhisper2011 March 21, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    Not Spring yet here in the Netherlands, so no cleaning for me either, at least not in the way you described :)

    • Marcella Rousseau March 21, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

      Hey, I want you to know that I love to watch Andreas Viested (New Scandanavian Cooking http://www.newscancook.com) I love that show. He is a very good chef and also very funny! He did a show about herring today: Swedish herring, Russian herring, all ways to prepare herring.

What is your take on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

