New Food Friday – Almond Milk

15 Mar

In my search to find lactose free foods that are high in calcium, I found almond milk. This particular brand (Silk), has 45% DV calcium with no lactose. I am very pleased to say that it is also delicious and is therefore the pick for this New Food Friday!

I love almonds, who doesn’t? So it’s no surprise that I love almond milk too.

sxc.hu sateda Almond Heart

Almond Heart sxc.hu sateda

Almond milk tastes like chocolate milk without the chocolate. But before you lactose intolerant folks run out and buy some, you should know that there are differences in the various brands of this type of milk in the event you want to cook with it. Aye, there’s the rub. There’s always a catch, isn’t there?

First, what about freezing it? Since an opened container of almond milk should be used before 7-10 days, I wondered if I could freeze some in the event I couldn’t drink it all in that time span.

According to the Silk website, the product changes in texture when thawed although you may still use it for frozen dessert recipes.

As it turned out, I had no problem drinking one cup daily for breakfast and finishing the container before the 10 days was up. The almond flavor goes great while eating a banana. I’m not a cold cereal eater in the wintertime, but I bet almond milk would be great in a bowl of cereal with sliced bananas!

So, can you heat it? Yes, you can with the Silk brand of almond milk.  I can’t wait to make hot chocolate with it. By the way, the recipes on their website are decadent! See http://silk.com/recipes 

If you can heat it, then you can bake with it so I made a batch of carrot/walnut/raisin muffins with one cup of almond milk.  

Carrot.Walnut.Raisin Muffin

Carrot/Walnut/Raisin Muffin made with Almond Milk

They came out great!

Many people make their own almond milk. It’s not that difficult. Here is one example.

Almonds and almond milk are very good sources of Vitamin E. Vitamin E helps with less cognitive decline as you age.  Some say almonds keep you thinking clearly and boost brain power. So, the benefits of almonds and almond milk go further than adding calcium to your diet and helping folks with lactose intolerance.

One cup of Almond milk also contains 25% DV of vitamin D. Vitamin D as you know, is the sunshine vitamin. We don’t get as much sunshine in the winter as we do in the summer when we’re outdoors more. It isn’t easy to get the vitamin D we need everyday so almond milk can help you reach those dietary needs too.

Here is the nutritional information.

Almond Milk Nutrition Facts

Almond Milk Nutrition Facts

 

This is an almond grove.

sxc.hu pv Almond Trees

Almond Trees sxc.hu pv

 

This is an almond branch with almonds.

sxc.hu pv Closeup of Unhusked Almonds

Closeup of Unhusked Almonds sxc.hu pv

 

This is your brain on almonds and almond milk.

sxc.hu plrang This is Your Brain

This is Your Brain on Almond Milk   sxc.hu plrang

The milk mustache in the Featured column is by Vengel Crimson – flickr

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

12 Responses to “New Food Friday – Almond Milk”

  1. Mother of 2 and No More May 18, 2013 at 10:34 am #

    I love almond milk, cow milk, and soy milk but I just can’t drink any of them because I’m intolerant of all of them. I have tried the Lactase supplement but it doesn’t help with one of the side effects. So, to get calcium and Vit D, I have to drink orange juice that contain it. Orange juice seems to be very friendly to my tummy and mind. I’ve tried the calcium chewables and they too make me sick.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau May 18, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

      Wow, I’m sorry you can’t drink almond milk. I guess you have an allergy to nuts? I’m so glad you can at least drink orange juice. Women really need to be diligent about getting calcium and vitamin D. I have some trouble with orange juice although I’ve drunk it many years. It’s just too sour tasting for me. I’ve only just started drinking almond milk and I like it a lot. Now I have it for breakfast everyday. We need to do weight bearing exercises too. Maybe some day we can all have computer chips installed in our bodies and we won’t have to suffer through trial and error to find out what we can or can’t tolerate. I’m ready for it! : – )

      Like

  2. P. C. Zick March 16, 2013 at 11:07 am #

    I love your photos, and I love almonds. Now I’ll have to try almond milk.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau March 19, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

      Thank you. Some of these photographers are really good! I am sold on almond milk!

      Like

  3. silverbells2012 March 15, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    Sounds delicious!

    Like

  4. camparigirl March 15, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

    Love almond milk! Have been drinking it forever as I don’t like the taste of cow milk all that much. It’s great on cereal and I add it all the time to my smoothies. And you are right, it’s pretty easy to cook with and the almond taste doesn’t tend to overwhelm most baked goods.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau March 15, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

      It is so much easier to drink than regular milk. I can’t taste the almond in the muffins at all and I didn’t even use vanilla extract! It seems made for a smoothie. I will definitely have to try that in the summer months. Do you know if they make powdered almond milk?

      Like

      • camparigirl March 15, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

        I don’t believe they do. At least, I have never seen it. You can buy almond flour though

        Like

  5. kelihasablog March 15, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

    I haven’t tried the Almond milk yet, but I have heard it was good. I know the organic chocolate milk has many ingredients that are really good for you, give you energy etc. :D

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau March 15, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

      I’m pretty sure I saw chocolate almond milk right next to the Silk almond milk. I paid $3.00 (it was on sale) for a half gallon container. I forgot to mention that it is only 60 calories per cup. I can see me drinking this with ice cubes in the summer after I finish mowing. This is definitely worth trying Keli. I think your kids will like it too.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 80 healthy foods | Start to be Healthy Now - March 26, 2013

    [...] New Food Friday – Almond Milk (marcellarousseau.wordpress.com) [...]

    Like

  2. MYILK DOES A BODY GOOD… | - March 20, 2013

    [...] New Food Friday – Almond Milk [...]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

