New Food Friday – Tangelos

22 Feb

Have you tried a tangelo? They look like an orange but are much less acidic. They are very juicy and very sweet. I am hooked on tangelos and so this post for New Food Friday is about tangelos!

Tangelos are grown specifically in Florida.

 I am on my third 5-lb bag of tangelos and I have one tangelo for breakfast everyday.

Bag of Oranges sxc.hu/JR3

Bag of Oranges sxc.hu/ JR3

I used to eat an orange everyday but they are too acidic for me. Once I tasted a tangelo, I was a convert.

Here are the Nutrition Facts.  

Nutrition Facts-Tangelo

Nutrition Facts-Tangelo Click to enlarge

 

When you take into account the smaller size of the tangelo compared to an orange, note that the average size orange is 180 grams and the average tangelo is 109 grams so don’t let the difference in calcium throw you (or the other differences either).

For myself, I prefer the smaller fruit. Oranges have morphed into a fruit that is so big that when I ate them, I eventually decided to just eat half. I wish they would stop growing fruit to such an enormous size! Even apples are ridiculously large these days. I wonder why this super-sized fruit growth hasn’t been addressed by health experts as they have addressed portion sizes for everything else, haven’t they!

Orange Branches sxc.hu pepo

Orange Branches sxc.hu pepo

Tangelos make a good snack during the day because they are low in calories and you can’t scarf them down in a hurry.

Tangelo Waiting to be Peeled

Tangelo Waiting to be Peeled

Tangelos are a cross between a tangerine and a grapefruit. This is surprising to me because they don’t look or taste anything like a grapefruit.   They are very sweet. There are several varieties and the ones I’ve had so far vary in the amount of seeds.

The tangelo in my photo had no seeds. The last bag of tangelos I bought had more seeds than the other two bags but for the most part, there are few seeds.

Peeled Tangelo

Peeled Tangelo

Also, the type that I bought was not that easy to peel which makes it a challenge to avoid breaking the membranes and losing a drop of that delicious juice!

On the other hand, juice is going everywhere in the little Italian town of Ivrea. As you can see in the photo, the Italians have other uses for oranges besides eating them and cross-breeding them.

Annual Carnival in the Italian city of Ivrea sxc.hu JosipBroz

Annual Carnival in the Italian city of Ivrea sxc.hu JosipBroz

In this photo they are celebrating the Annual Carnival in the Italian city of Ivrea where they throw oranges at each other.

In the Valencia region of Spain, they hold a tomato-throwing festival. (Ironic isn’t it that they are throwing tomatoes and not oranges in Valencia!)

La_Tomatina Wikipedia - flydime

La_Tomatina Wikipedia – flydime

Fruit throwing is one way to get out your aggression. It’s also good exercise and apparently fun, therefore good for your health, although you could be hurt by getting hit. But at least it isn’t a bullet, some would say. Maybe we need to throw more fruit in America.

Would you stand under an orange tree? I wouldn’t, not even if the trees were on a patio with a fountain!

A fountain in the Patio of Oranges within the grounds of the Cathedral of Sevilla sxc.hu sueanna

A fountain in the Patio of Oranges within the grounds of the Cathedral of Sevilla Click to see the oranges. sxc.hu sueanna

It’s a good way to get unexpectedly clunked on the head.

Once I sat under an almond tree and an almond fell on me. It was like a missile and it hurt like heck! That’s right, a little old almond. They’re not so little when they are unhusked!

So,  for the time being, I’d rather eat than throw oranges or tomatoes or tangelos. Then again, maybe I’m just comparing apples to oranges.

Apples and Oranges sxc.hu cherrycoke.jpg

Apples and Oranges sxc.hu cherrycoke.jpg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

                                                                                             

15 Responses to “New Food Friday – Tangelos”

  1. reocochran March 1, 2013 at 5:24 am #

    I so love tangelos! and those cuties, too! your pictures are always outstanding!

    Like

  2. playfulmeanderings February 28, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    Great art with this one. :)

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau February 28, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

      Art? Maybe the art of throwing and hitting your intended subject! lol!

      Like

  3. Janet Rörschåch February 27, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

    Love all the places you found the tangelo color. Well done!

    Like

  4. sarsm February 26, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    I find oranges too acidic too.

    Like

  5. soulofspice February 23, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

    great reading this post Marcella – I had no idea there were orange throwing competitions… guess that’s an easy way to make juice :) your story of getting stoned by an almond is too funny.. keep them coming..

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau February 23, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

      Yes, an easy way to make juice and to make a mess! I wouldn’t want to have to clean it up! I was in Jamaica, on vacation. We were getting ready to have dinner, sitting under almond trees. Good thing they weren’t coconut trees!

      Like

  6. kelihasablog February 22, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

    I love them…. they are just so much easier to eat and less seeds. :D

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau February 22, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

      Aren’t they great?! I love them too! And less acidic. Thanks for commenting Keli : – )

      Like

  7. camparigirl February 22, 2013 at 6:52 pm #

    If you ever come across Persian lemons, make sure you try them. They taste like lemons but with none of the acidity. Funnily, I sat on that exact same fountain in Seville – it was May and I didn’t even realize they were orange trees!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau February 22, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

      LOL! It’s hard to see the oranges in those trees! I had to zoom in to see them. I have never heard of Persian lemons and I don’t think I’ve ever seen them. I would love to try them. I will keep my eye out. I like lemons thinly sliced with chicken or fish and baked. Yum! I think I learned that trick from a cooking show otherwise I would never have thought of eating lemons that way. I went grocery shopping yesterday and passed a lemon meringue pie in the freezer section. I was tempted but had already bought some chocolate candy so I decided not to overdo it!

      Like

      • camparigirl February 22, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

        Good girl. I just read your comment after stuffing a chicken with lemon slices (from my tree), rosemary and garlic. I love roasting chicken with lemons inside!

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau February 23, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

          LOL! Great minds think alike. Sounds delicious. I’m just having salad for dinner tonight: escarole with mango and avocado and probably the leftover broccoli too. Cod tomorrow. I think I will put some lemon slices under the cod.

          Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Apple a Day…or Banana… or Orange (Day5) | My 365 Change - March 10, 2013

    [...] New Food Friday – Tangelos (marcellarousseau.wordpress.com) [...]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 412 other followers

