New Food Friday – Blackstrap Molasses

15 Feb

You don’t hear much about blackstrap molasses and that is why this post is about blackstrap molasses for this New Food Friday.

Blackstrap Molasses

Blackstrap Molasses

What is the blackstrap in blackstrap molasses? The name ‘blackstrap’ originates from the black ‘strap’ or mark that distinguished the casks of molasses from the casks of raw sugar that  shipped as part of the same cargo.

(see: http://www.processedfreeamerica.org/resources/health-news/287-the-many-benefits)

What about sulphured and unsulphured molasses?

This jar of blackstrap molasses is not sulphured.  Blackstrap molasses can be sulphured or unsulphured. Make sure you check the label when you buy it.

Sulphured molasses: Sulfur dioxide is added as a preservative to keep young, raw sugar cane fresh until it is processed and to preserve the molasses byproducts produced from it. 

Unsulphured molasses: is made from matured cane plants that have been allowed to ripen naturally in the field.

Molasses is made by boiling sugar three times. Each time it goes through a boiling process, it gets darker and the flavor becomes more intense and somewhat bitter. (Just like when you try to make caramel and burn the sugar!)

What is the Nutritional Value of Blackstrap Molasses?

Blackstrap Molasses Nutrition Facts

Blackstrap Molasses Nutrition Facts – Click to enlarge

Blackstrap molasses has a very strong taste. I’ve made the mistake of adding too much to a recipe once. I’ll never make that mistake again. It will take over the flavor of whatever you add it to so be careful not to use too much when you use it.

On the other hand, I don’t know anything that has more Iron than blackstrap molasses. One tablespoon contains 70% of your Daily Value (DV). This is beneficial to pregnant women, those who are anemic, and vegetarians who don’t eat meat.

I don’t remember what I paid for this jar of House of Herbs Blackstrap Molasses, but I do remember that it was the least expensive molasses on the shelf of my local Meijer. 

You can use blackstrap molasses to make baked beans, gingerbread, and gingersnap cookies. 

I made whole wheat bread and although my recipe didn’t call for blackstrap molasses, I have other bread recipes that do, so I added it to this recipe. I often combine recipes, sometimes due to lack of ingredients. For example, I didn’t have the oats needed for the recipe that required blackstrap molasses, so I added the molasses to a different recipe that didn’t require oats.

This is a very delicious whole wheat bread recipe. I highly recommend it for its nutritional value and nutty taste. (I ate three slices when it cooled!)

2 Loaves Whole Wheat Bread

2 Loaves Whole Wheat Bread

I ate two slices for breakfast toasted!

Whole Wheat Toast

Whole Wheat Toast

This bread would be great smeared with peanut butter and probably Nutella would work too. I tried spreading Apricot jam on it and that didn’t work for me but then I’m not that fond of Apricots.

Here is the recipe:

5 1/2 to 6 cups unsifted white flour

2 cups unsifted whole wheat flour 

3 tbsp sugar (I used brown sugar)

4 teas salt

1/4 cup molasses

2 pkgs active dry yeast

2 cups milk

3/4 cup water

1/4 cup butter or margarine

Combine flours. (I don’t combine the flours as the recipe suggests.)

Wheat sxc.hu/umayr http://www.communicate.pk

Wheat sxc.hu/umayr http://www.communicate.pk

In a large bowl thoroughly mix 2 1/2 cups flour mixture, sugar, salt, and undissolved yeast.

By the way, I like to use white whole wheat flour. If you haven’t tried it, I recommend it.

Mill sxc.hu/linder6580/Robert Linder

                                                                             Mill                                                                                                                                                      sxc.hu/linder6580/Robert Linder

Combine milk, water, butter in a saucepan. Heat over low heat until liquids are very warm (120F – 130F). Butter does not need to melt. Gradually add to dry ingredients and beat 2 minutes at medium speed of electric mixer, scraping bowl occasionally. Add 1 cup flour mixture. Beat at high speed 2 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally. Stir in enough additional flour mixture to make a stiff dough. Turn out onto lightly floured board and knead until smooth and elastic, about 8 to 10 minutes. Cover with plastic wrap, then a towel. Let rest 20 minutes.

Divide dough in half. Roll each half to a 14 x 9-inch rectangle. Shape into loaves. Place in 2 greased 9 x 5 x 3-inch loaf pans. Brush loaves with Peanut oil (I omitted this step or you could brush them with melted butter.) Cover with plastic wrap. Refrigerate 2 to 24 hours.

When ready to bake, remove from refrigerator. Uncover dough carefully. Let stand at room temperature 10 minutes. Puncture any gas bubbles which may have formed with a greased toothpick. Bake at 400F about 40 minutes or until done. Remove from pans and cool on wire racks.

You may have noticed that this recipe calls for kneading.

Kneading

Kneading on a counter  sxc.hu/arinas74 Ariel da Silva Parreira

I do all my kneading in a very large bowl with a somewhat flat bottom. This way I don’t have to flour my counter and get it all sticky with dough. I also don’t roll out my dough with a rolling pin.

Rolling Pin sxc.hu/topfer www.pixelmaster.no

Rolling Pin sxc.hu/topfer http://www.pixelmaster.no

I just stretch the dough out with my hands in the air, like a pizza dough except I make the shape rectangular. I pull it gently so as not to tear it. I even roll it up this way (like rolling up a large map or a scroll or your diploma if that helps you to visualize it.) I couldn’t photograph it because my hands were full of sticky dough. Sticky dough and cameras are not a good mix! You don’t have to do what I do but you can see from the finished results that my method doesn’t hurt the results and saves me some cleanup time.

I’ve made this recipe several times and the results were always good. Try it, or your favorite whole wheat recipe with blackstrap molasses. I think you will like it and it will be so good for you!

P.S. If you want to read an unbelievable, incredible, mind-blowing TRUE story about molasses, click here if you dare

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

16 Responses to “New Food Friday – Blackstrap Molasses”

  1. Holistic Wayfarer October 17, 2014 at 11:34 pm #

    I don’t do Nutella for the transfat but I do my blackstrap, unsulphured. =) Neat post.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau October 18, 2014 at 11:17 am #

      Thank you. There are so many varieties of Nutella in my supermarket now. Have you checked out the newer brands? Or maybe my supermarket is just carrying more brands. Anyway, I know if I buy a jar that I can’t be trusted with it. It’s too good even for my strong will power! ; – )

      Like

      • Holistic Wayfarer October 18, 2014 at 11:46 am #

        LOL We all have our darling foods. Or in this case, “food” (for the scary ingredients ha ha ha ha).

        =)

        Like

  2. Mac November 19, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    I agree with liking the background on a food item. Also enjoyed your additional comments throughout. I do knead on a floured board surface, but find the cleanup quite easy if done when dry and with a dry utensil directly into the trash can. I assume you add the molasses to the warm milk mixture before pouring into the dry ingredients. Your recipe did not state when. That’s what I did. Funny how many people don’t think they like molasses, but will easily eat brown sugar (white sugar and molasses mixed..lol). Thanks for the recipe.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau November 21, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

      Yes, add the molasses to the warm milk. I updated the post. Good catch and thanks! I like doing the research to get some background on a food. I never know where it will take me! No matter how careful I am, I usually get flour on my clothes, on the floor, on the counter, the stove, it just flies everywhere! So how did your bread turn out? Did you enjoy it? I found a new bread recipe that I like. It uses 3 eggs. The crumb was soft and the crust was just crusty enough. I’m going to use it for a pizza dough as an experiment the next time I’m in the mood for pizza. I think it will work well. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

      • Anonymous November 21, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

        I made the bread into hot rolls, per husband’s request. They came out just fine. I had forgotten how dense wheat breads can be! lol

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau November 21, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

          I tend to forget that too! But I think it can depend on so many conditions. For example, I made an egg bread using 1 cup or so of wheat flour and it wasn’t dense at all, it rose very well. The recipe did call for 2 packages of yeast so maybe the whole wheat flour didn’t stand a chance with all that yeast! lol! If your rolls are too dense, make bread pudding! I’ve done that ; – )

          Like

  3. Susan T's Kitchen September 7, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

    I “knead” like you! On the other hand my husband needs the mixer, roller, and counter. The less I have to clean up the better!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau September 8, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

      That’s how I look at it too. As it is, I manage to get flour everywhere no matter what I do!

      Like

  4. lovinghomemade February 17, 2013 at 3:52 am #

    I had to look this up just to be sure but we call this treacle in the UK. I had no idea it could be good for you! Thanks very much.

    Like

  5. gerard villanueva February 16, 2013 at 11:02 am #

    I enjoy food posts that give background insight and info in addition to the recipe. Super nice!

    Like

  6. Cole February 15, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

    That looks fabulous! Thanks for the suggestion!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homemade Energy Drink | Healthier, Wealthier, and Wiser - March 15, 2013

    [...] New Food Friday – Blackstrap Molasses (marcellarousseau.wordpress.com) [...]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

