Standing/Sitting Desk Workstation – Free!

1 Jan

Too much sitting has been under the gun as the latest bad health habit. Momentum has been gaining in companies to offer standing desk workstations to their employees. Some include treadmills!   What about us bloggers who sit in front of the computer day after day? We can’t run out and buy the latest standing desk workstation. Some will run you upwards of $4,000!

standing desk 2.0

Standing desk with chair 2.0 (Photo credit: A.J. Kandy)

Some say women will get increased problems with varicose veins using standing desk workstations. My thought was that some people would have swollen feet. Since this is a rather “new” idea in the workplace for many, there isn’t much data to prove that standing all day is better than sitting all day. So, like most things, my feeling is that it’s best to do both standing and sitting in moderation. 

Sitting at desk with feet up

Sitting at desk with feet up – sxc.hu/cornnius – Maria Luisa Gutierrez

One of the benefits of doing more standing is that you burn more calories than if you just sat all day. However, some claim that there are many more benefits to standing, including adding years to your life! You know that if something benefits your health, you can be sure that it will be posted in this blog.

Create Your Own Standing Desk

I researched and wrote an article about how I created a standing desk workstation that could be converted back to a sitting desk workstation in less than 5 minutes, (actually less than 1 minute), without spending any money. The initial setup may take a few hours depending on what you have on hand and how creative you are.

I’ve been using my workstation now for over a week. I had forgotten how tiring it is to stand all day! But how great it feels when you finally sit down! Like the guy in the photo, you may want to put your feet up after standing at a standing desk workstation!

Continue reading to learn how to create this workstation and don’t forget to check the links in my article. There are only two. They explain the pros and cons of standing desk workstations along with companies that use them, people who use them, and costs to purchase them. It’s worth checking out.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

4 Responses to “Standing/Sitting Desk Workstation – Free!”

  1. kelihasablog January 4, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    True… I’ve tried both…LOL. I think the tall counter with a stool sounds wonderful… or even perhaps a small table for eating but have it bar height… :D

    • Marcella Rousseau January 4, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

      I didn’t have any energy to do any standing today, although I did 10 minutes of “walking” with Leslie Sansone (an exercise dvd). I stood while I made dinner! That should count for something! lol!

  2. SmallHouseBigGarden January 1, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    My kitchen island is tall and since I typically use my laptop there I stand quite often while online or blogging. If I get sick of standing, I pull up the high barstool I use when eating. I think a little of both is probably more beneficial than sitting all day!

    • Marcella Rousseau January 3, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

      I wish my kitchen counters were taller! It sounds like you’ve got it made! Good for you! The body was meant to move and not to sit all day, for certain. Thanks for commenting ; – )

What is your take on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

