New Food Friday – Daikon Radish

7 Dec

When I think of radishes, I think of small, round, red radishes.

Radieschen - Raphanus sativus - Marktware

Red Radishes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

That’s why I was surprised to find this long, white, Daikon radish in my supermarket. It is exactly why it’s on the menu for today’s New Food Friday.

English: Picture of a pile of Daikon (giant wh...
Daikon (giant white radish)  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Daikon radish is very low in calories, fat-free, cholesterol free, and a good source of vitamin C. It’s milder than regular radishes and a little sweeter.

According to fruitsandveggiesmorematters.org there are many ways to prepare this radish. Already that is a big difference from the small red radishes that we know which typically get sliced into a salad!

They list 10 ways to enjoy it, but I decided to try it two ways:

Raw with peanut butter. I used Smuckers Natural peanut butter. Daikon Radishes are another option for people who like to nibble on raw veggies with a dip.

Daikon Peanut Butter Sticks

Daikon Peanut Butter Sticks

  Or,

Roasted and slow cooked with carrots, onions, garlic, celery, olive oil, salt and pepper and whatever other seasonings you like. I omitted the seasonings except for the salt and pepper. You can do a lot of variations on this roasted dish. Add sweet potatoes or squash or whatever vegetable you have in the fridge.

This turned out great! It was delicious. The Daikon Radish became more peppery. I took some photos and then tasted it. I decided I wanted it browned a bit and put it under the broiler. I had roasted it for 45 minutes in an aluminum foil packet. I really liked this dish and will be making it again.

Roasted Daikon and Vegetables

Roasted Daikon and Vegetables

I think it would also be great raw in a cole slaw dish or salad.

Daikon Salad with Sashimi - Horoki

Daikon Salad with Sashimi – Horoki (Photo credit: flickr – avlxyz)

It’s good in an antipasto dish too.

If you are the adventurous type, you can even make a cake out of it!

Daikon Cake - pre made

Daikon Cake  (Photo credit: Mr & Mrs Stickyfingers)

I paid $.79 per pound and my Daikon Radish was under two pounds. Daikon RadishLet me know if you try this.  I was pleasantly surprised at the results when it was cooked.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

15 Responses to “New Food Friday – Daikon Radish”

  1. reocochran December 15, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    This post was great and I will definitely watch that movie soon. I think my son makes a good “root vegetable casserole” which he should look into the white radishes!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau December 15, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      Thank you! He makes a root vegetable casserole? That sounds good! Any chance you will be posting it?

      Like

  2. P. C. Zick December 11, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Thank you for sharing some new ideas and vegetables in your blog. I definitely need to seek these out. Roasting vegetables is one of my favorites and this would only enhance it, I’m sure. Now I need to see if hubby can find seeds and grow these along with the red variety. These seem more versatile.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau December 11, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

      You’re welcome! I love roasted vegetables too. I think you will enjoy it!

      Like

  3. tamara December 10, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    I’ve nominated you Very Inspiring Blogger Award-congrats!

    http://mybotanicalgarden.wordpress.com/2012/12/10/very-inspiring-blogger-tvice/

    Cheers,
    Tamara

    Like

  4. soulofspice December 8, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    i love daikon, raw in salad or cooked . it makes a delicious sambhar…(lentil soup)..but i’ve never tried your roasted way.. yum!

    Like

  5. Peri's Spice Ladle December 7, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Radishes just bring smile to the face, they are so dainty and crisp:) Growing up, we always had radish as part of our meals…Love all these radish idea and I plan to pick some up on Monday…been a while since we had radish around here. And Radish cake, that’s innovative!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau December 7, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

      It was great roasted. I will definitely buy it again. My mom often bought the red ones. Thank you for enjoying the ideas. I would love to taste a radish cake but I wouldn’t want to make it unless I tasted it and liked it first.

      Like

  6. Green Door Hospitality December 7, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    I actually just started liking radishes this year… I will have to add these to my list of foods to try!! :-)
    Kenley

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau December 7, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

      They’re great roasted! I got the movie Mirror, Mirror and will be watching it tonight. I will be looking for the Dragon Fruit. Are there any dragons in the movie?

      Like

      • Green Door Hospitality December 7, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

        No dragons… well, not really. There is a “creature” but don’t want to say too much and give anything away :-) Hope you enjoy it!!

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau December 8, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

          Hahah! Thank you for not spoiling it for me! There was, shall we say, a type of serpent/wolf/phantom/dragon-isk creature? You were dead on about the dragon fruit. I forgot all about it while I was watching the movie and then, there it was! They even sliced it with the red skin on! That was definitely Dragon Fruit. What a nice touch for that to be in that movie. Somebody really did their research homework. I liked the special effects. I thought it was nice to see so many little people employed. (I don’t think it’s politically correct to say dwarfs anymore.) Nice costumes too. I’m going to update my post and include this bit of information. I’ll put a link to your blog too. Thanks for the tip!

          Like

          • Green Door Hospitality December 10, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

            I’m so glad that you enjoyed the movie — and the use of the dragon fruit! Thanks for the link up :-)

            Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Daikon and Carrot: A Trio of Healthy Recipes « Living Through the Senses - January 23, 2013

    […] New Food Friday – Daikon Radish (marcellarousseau.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 417 other followers

