Learn to be Optimistic

12 Nov

Are you a person who sees rainbows or clouds? It’s another way of asking, “Is the glass half empty or half full?”

If you passed a water fountain, would you throw a coin into it and make a wish or would you walk on by thinking that your dreams could never come true no matter how many coins you tossed?

It may not be easy, but you can walk to the other side of the bridge to more optimistic thinking.

Once your brain gets into the habit of thinking positive, you can spread your wings and fly!

An optimist never loses hope.

Cape of Good Hope, South Africa

Don’t let the sun set another day without reading these tips I wrote about how you can learn to be an optimist.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

18 Responses to “Learn to be Optimistic”

  1. nature789 November 13, 2012 at 8:03 am #

    Fantastic post Marcella! Not only positive, but your pictures are simply gorgeous :D thank you for sharing
    Blessings,
    Tj

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau November 13, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

      I’m glad you liked it. The photographers are talented. Good use of light, especially the bridge photo.

      Like

  2. P. C. Zick November 13, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    Thanks, Marcella. I was raised by a pessimist so I spent a good deal of time in my younger years erasing the tapes my mother placed in my head. Today I’m definitely an optimist, although I can still dip below the half empty line on the glass if I’m not careful!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau November 13, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

      I think it’s harder for women to be optimistic. I think we just have more going against us than men do. I was watching Dancing with the Stars last night and Kirsti Alley made a comment about how she still thought she was going to win even though she had been last on the leaderboard several times. She is definitely optimistic!

      Like

      • P. C. Zick November 14, 2012 at 7:04 am #

        I saw that, too. The woman with her (Kelly?) is definitely the pessimist.

        Like

        • Marcella Rousseau November 16, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

          Yes, I think I know what woman you are talking about. It’s rare that anyone on that show is negative. They are usually so enthusiastic! Their adrenalin is pumping away like crazy and those good endorphins are running a muck!

          Like

  3. reocochran November 12, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    I am a big believer in the positive words you wrote and also, how I was brought up to think and act. It is wonderful to see you reaching out to help others “cross the bridge” as you describe becoming more positive. It took me a long time to give up on a friend or two who I felt drained me, no matter how hard I tried to cheer them up, help them “see the light” (or lighter side) of life.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau November 13, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

      You know, when you’re a giver, it’s difficult sometimes to stop giving and put yourself first. I’ve had a few drain me too. I’ve come to find out that one of them has borderline personality disorder and the other has bipolar disorder. Even therapists have difficulty working with these types let alone lay people! It’s tough to let go but sometimes you just have to for your own health. They may not be ready to see the light. They may never see the light! Be your own cheerleader ; – )

      Like

      • reocochran November 17, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

        Thank you for understanding and such a great supportive note!

        Like

  4. Born To Organize November 12, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    Nice! And so true. What gorgeous picture pairings to go along with your words.

    Like

  5. Green Door Hospitality November 12, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    Great and inspiring post! :-)
    Kenley

    Like

  6. camparigirl November 12, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    As someone who started out as a pessimist and managed to cross over to the other side (most of the time), I wholeheartedly agree!

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

