Commemorating 9/11

11 Sep

 

I was listening to the TV eating my lunch when the news anchor announced that there would be a “Healing Field” held at the Crown Cemetery in Fishers, Indiana. It would be hosted by the National Exchange Club. They wanted volunteers. This sounded like something I would be interested in so I took down the phone number and called.

The Reading of the Names

To my surprise, I was the only non-Exchange Club member to call and volunteer. They asked me if I would like to participate in reading some of the names of the people we lost on 9/11. I was touched that they asked me.

Still a New Yorker

I left Queens, New York when I was 29 but decades later, I’m still a New Yorker at heart. I wasn’t in New York when the attack occurred, but I felt the loss as if I was still there. I watched it live on a big screen TV at work. We all did. I might as well have been there. So I needed a tangible expression of mourning and although this particular Healing Field took place in 2004, I didn’t feel that I had progressed much since September 11, 2001.

Healing Fields

Participating in the Healing Fields did much to heal me. It involved many boy scouts hammering re-bars into the ground to hold up the American flags and situate the flags. Volunteers also helped carry and position a flag. I participated with this too. Each flag represented a person who died that day. I still get chills just typing this. The photos of that day can express what occurred better than I ever could.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Official Ceremony With US Fighter Jets

There was an official ceremony and at the close, US Fighter Jets flew overhead. As fast as they were, I still can’t believe that I got two photos of them flying overhead. It was incredibly spectacular!

I’ll Never Forget

The Healing Fields was a day I’ll never forget nor will I ever forget 9/11. Sometimes we need help in recovering from a traumatic event. An event like the Healing Fields goes a long way to restore your good health.

For more information about the Healing Fields, click: Healing Fields

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

11 Responses to “Commemorating 9/11”

  1. Newyorkneedsyou.org April 26, 2013 at 11:29 pm #

    You should take part in a contest for one of the best sites on the internet.
    I’m going to recommend this site!

    Like

  2. alifetraveled September 13, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    If you hadn’t stopped by my blog I never would have your entry…I should have known you had ties to NYC, but to find out about memorial ceremonies in Indiana of all places leaves me speechless. Just wonderful to hear about Healing Fields.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau September 13, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

      Why are you speechless? Indianapolis is full of patriotic people. The city is second only to Washington, DC when it comes to war memorials. http://www.in.gov/iwm/ 9/11 was an attack on our country. Remember, it didn’t just happen in NY, a plane crashed into the Pentagon too and one was headed for the White House but crashed in PA
      Healing Fields are held all across the country and have been for years now.

      Like

  3. tanyamhudson September 11, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    Wow. What an amazing experience. I cannot imagine putting up a flag for all of the nearly 3000 people who died that day, but I can see that it was a beautiful and touching tribute to those who were lost. I might never have read this post had you not stopped by to comment on my blog, so thank you!

    Like

  4. claudiagiulia September 11, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    What do they say? You are always a New Yorker? But I guess we were all New Yorkers on that day. Nice post

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Commemorating 9/11 | For Your Good Health - September 11, 2014

    […] http://marcellarousseau.wordpress.com/2012/09/11/commemorating-911/ […]

    Like

  2. Thoughts of Healing on September 11, 2012 « ADD . . . and-so-much-more - September 12, 2012

    [...] Commemorating 9/11 (marcellarousseau.wordpress.com) [...]

    Like

  3. Patriot Day 2012 « Asdaqua - September 11, 2012

    [...] Commemorating 9/11 (marcellarousseau.wordpress.com) [...]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 396 other followers

