Exercise – What Is Your Favorite Way to Exercise?

28 Aug

Yoga Pose

When I first started going to a health club, I took every exercise class that was available. I enjoyed learning step routines, Pilates, circuit training, Yoga, toning with weights and toning with stretch bands, abdominal workouts on a ball or a weighted ball or using a kettle bell. And there was always the track for walking or running. My favorite though was and still is kickboxing. Kickboxing can get your heart rate up. It’s a great cardio workout. If you combine the kickboxing moves with weights or use weighted gloves, you get the double bonus of cardio and strength training.

~

Jump rope

Home Gym

Over time, I purchased exercise clothing such as the correct shoes, running pants, stretch bicycle shorts which I wore for exercise classes, a gym bag, a lock for my locker, a steel water bottle to replace the now defunct plastic water bottle, weights, stretch bands, resistance tubes, ankle and wrist weights, jump ropes, glove weights, exercise balls, mats, exercise DVDs, and workout music tapes for my exercise routine at home when I couldn’t get to the health club. Whew!

Mat & exercise ball

~

New Exercise Classes

Exercise classes are always evolving. Today there are Zumba classes and it has become very popular. Cycling classes are popular too.  Recently, my health club added a kickboxing class but it is a separate class from the classes that are included in your signup package. They charge $70 for the kickboxing class! In my previous gym memberships at other clubs, kickboxing was always included. The Parks Department offers kickboxing classes for free and those classes are packed!

~

Senior Citizen Classes

Water aerobics classes are popular with the older generation and are sometimes referred to as Aqua classes or Arthritis Aqua classes.

Aqua Class

 

Low Impact – High Intensity

These days I go for the low impact exercise. That’s not so easy to find. If you like to work out at home with exercise DVDs, many of them require a lot of jumping which is high impact. The older you are, the more risky this type of exercise is for you. After thoroughly searching countless exercise DVDs, I found two that are low impact but get my heart rate up. Learn more here.

What is your favorite exercise?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

15 Responses to “Exercise – What Is Your Favorite Way to Exercise?”

  1. playfulmeanderings September 1, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    I have nominated you for the lovely blog award. See the rules on my http://www.playfulmeanderings.wordpress.com ! I love what you do and enjoy your insights.

    Like

  2. silverbells2012 August 30, 2012 at 4:21 am #

    I can see the attraction of kickboxing, having done some similarish stuff in karate. My favourite sport, though, is swimming, as it doesn’t put pressure on my joints. Sorry that kickboxing isn’t included in the package at your health club.
    Zumba has also become popular here, though I’ve never tried it. I like dancing but the classes always seem to be on at times I can’t do.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 30, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

      Swimming is definitely good for the joints. It’s low impact. I would do swimming too but every time I get in a pool, I get swimmer’s ear. I considered scuba diving lessons at one point but ended up taking flying lessons instead. I don’t know why they made kickboxing a separate class. Maybe this particular kickboxing class is more defense oriented. Class times are always tricky.Talk to the instructor. Maybe there are others who want the same time as you. It wouldn’t hurt and I’m sure she would like to teach another class as these instructors don’t get paid that much. I used to go to a lot of Sunday night Single’s dancing. I’ve had enough garlic breath, boob-level, toe stomping partners to last me the rest of my life. I’m satisfied with dancing around the kitchen. Keep up the good exercise work!

      Like

  3. nature789 August 29, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    Marcella your article is my exercise/gym life spanning over the last 10 years! I chuckled as I thought of all the monies spent… Last month I renewed my gym membership to SNAP Fitness. Getting the groove, motivation and time to go has been a struggle. I’m almost 50 years old and I need to get my but in gear! I even joined weight watchers online to log my food. :)

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 29, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

      Hi TJ, 50! You look 35 if that!You’ve just suffered a loss so you’re probably lethargic at least. It’s OK to give yourself a break sometimes even though exercise for you right now would be one of the best things for you. Exercise is not only for the body; it’s for the mind too. Most of the time, exercise for me uplifts my spirits. I could leave the house feeling a bit down or pessimistic. But when I return home after exercising, I feel up! That down feeling is gone. The other thing is that plenty of times I dragged myself to the gym and got on the elliptical machine and said to myself, I’m only doing 10 minutes. Then, after 10 minutes I’ll think, eh, I’ll do 10 more. (My mind is like a coach and sometimes I get competitive with myself too.) Before I know it, I’ve done 45 minutes. It gives me unbelievable energy. I’m at the point where not exercising would make me feel so bad about myself, so disappointed in myself, that I would find it unbearable. I think I’ll write a blog about what keeps me motivated and maybe that will help you and others too.

      Like

  4. floraseasons August 29, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    Yoga, swimming, walk/running with the dog, and hiking round out my exercise regiment. You like kickboxing huh, that’s so hardcore! ;)

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 29, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

      Lol! Hardcore…that cracked me up. I had to look it up to be sure I knew what you meant. Wow, I’m gettin’ old when I’m not up on the vernacular. LOL. Your comment about “hardcore” brings up so many emotions for me. First, the image of a drill sargent. Right. The platoon would walk all over me. Second, I have been known to say in the past few years, “I aspire to be a *itch.” Secretly knowing it’ll never happen but I keep trying. Third, I feel a sense of pride when you say that to me. I didn’t choose kickboxing because it was the most intense exercise I could find. I like it because it is mostly low-impact and I can’t do high impact anymore. I used to run/jog. Can’t do it anymore. I used to play tennis. Can’t do it anymore. Getting the picture? I think kickboxing gets a bad rap. It seems extreme and some instructors teach it that way. But the DVD instructors I use and the instructors I had at the gym when I learned, were not that way. I would love to do what you do: Yoga,swim, hike, walk with the dog but, I have no dog, I can barely swim, and last year I developed arthritis of a toe and metarsalgia in some of my foot bones so….my hiking days are over too. As for yoga, I do some yoga on occasion but nothing extreme. If by hardcore you mean “very strong personal beliefs regarding exercise” then you have me nailed to a “T”! It’s my passion but I am not fanatic about it. (Well, possibly a little.) I know, really know all the tremendous benefits of exercise. It’s a better miracle drug than aspirin. Hopefully, over the next few months I will be able to convince some of you to realize this or at least raise everyone’s sense of awareness about it. I see the looks of admiration I get from people (especially the younger ones) at the gym and I’m OK with that ;- ) Thank you for sharing.

      Like

  5. Susan T's Kitchen August 28, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    I just do a 30 minute fast walk on the tread, for a warm up. Then I work out with free weights and some machines. I do this alone. Hubby and I go for hikes and walks together.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 28, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

      I’m very glad to hear that you warm up first. It’s nice that hubby is involved too. It’s always good to have a partner when you go hiking (even though I have hiked by myself a time or two.) Nice, Susan!

      Like

  6. Life in the 50's and beyond... August 28, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    Just started Water Aerobics about 4 months ago.. love it. It may look easy but its quite a workout… has helped tone and weight loss and I am able to do this with my soon-to-be-replaced knee!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 28, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

      That’s great! It’s low impact so it’s easy on the joints. It sounds like it’s working out for you. If you find an exercise you love, you’ll do it more often. Good for you! And good luck with your new knee. When will you be getting it?

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Favorite Low Impact Cardio Exercises | For Your Good Health - October 2, 2014

    […] elliptical trainer machine. It’s an exercise skill I learned at a health club that has become my favorite exercise: […]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

