Garden Art

23 Aug

I have four pieces of garden art in my vegetable garden. The first one is a red butterfly and it’s the biggest one. The center of the butterfly is a red ball which looks like it represents the earth. It rotates. I can’t tell you how many times I mistook it for a tomato.

Butterfly Garden Art

The second piece is what I call a Darning Needle or some people call a Dragon Fly. I never saw a white one. Maybe this is an albino. The wings move.

Darning Needle Garden Art

The third piece is some kind of freaked out yellow bird or perhaps a chicken. I took nine photos of it and all of them look unfocused so I give up.  UPDATE: I took another shot at it today from above. This one is the best. You can see its goofy feet. Maybe its face was painted on unfocused. The wings and the legs move. I selected it as the Featured Post. Click on the Home menu to take a gander.

The fourth one is the oldest and my favorite. It’s a toucan bird. Its wings are propellers. Sometimes, depending on the wind direction, one will go one way and the other will go the other way. They make a noise that I can hear inside the house so I know when it’s windy outside.

Toucan Bird Garden Art

Garden art may not scare away the cats or the birds like they’re supposed to but they add gaiety to my garden. They amuse me and anything that is amusing is good for your health.

7 Responses to “Garden Art”

  1. momentumofjoy August 25, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    We have fun little pieces of garden art, too, including a big cement tortoise (actually a seat or plant pot holder), a zillion hummingbird feeders, and a garden gnome. The kids enjoy it and we do as well. :)

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau December 2, 2012 at 12:05 am #

      That’s what I need, a garden gnome. Yours sounds nice. Have you posted pix?

      Like

  2. P. C. Zick August 24, 2012 at 7:26 am #

    Good idea for a blog. Those pieces in my garden mean something to me but don’t look as fine as yours! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Susan T's Kitchen August 23, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    They are so cute!

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 417 other followers

