Trees in My Garden – Part II (and Butterflies)

17 Aug

After all the welcome rain we had yesterday, today is a beautiful, sunny day. I went out back to take more photos of my trees. Here is my Silver Maple. She’s a tall one isn’t she?  

Silver Maple with two trunks.

This is a better shot of my Austrian White Pine (below). I didn’t chop off the top in the photo and I think its green color shows up better in this photo.Austrian White Pine

This is a photo (below) I took a few years ago. There were a pair of them near each other. This butterfly is called a “Buckeye Butterfly.” The “eyes” protect it some from predators. Unfortunately not from lawnmowers.

OK, let’s throw in my Orange Daylillies  on this post too. Like most of the plants that grow in my garden, they have a mind of their own and as soon as I turn my back, they proliferate like rabbits!You may have to click on the “Home” menu to see these because I delegated them to the “Featured Image” location.

One hot summer, I dug them all up. (These were planted by the previous owner and the color orange does not go with the blue theme I prefer. ) It was so much fun trying to root up all the tubers. (NOT!) These are about as insistent and persistent as my Silver Maple.  Hmmm, and they’re right next to each other too. I wonder if there is something in the soil in that area that has something to do with their determination. You can’t imagine how much vinegar and salt I’ve poured over there to kill weeds and mulberry trees that are out of control. It did work on the mulberry trees but it hasn’t effected anything else over there. It’s a jungle out there!

Oh, and since we (we?) got on the subject of butterflies, I found two of them excitedly flitting around my sage plant. Do you see them? They’re hard to see. We (we?) call them “Cabbage Butterflies” in these parts. That’s all for today.

So, what does this have to do with Your Good Health? Everything. Gardening reduces your blood pressure. Being a part of nature is relaxing. Try it, you’ll like it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

8 Responses to “Trees in My Garden – Part II (and Butterflies)”

  1. nature789 August 22, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    When I saw the Austrian white pine I thought adorable Christmas tree too. Boy the birds must love your majestic Silver Maple! what a wonderful and green yard you have :)

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 23, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      Really? When I see the photo, I think it looks furry like velvet and I just want to fall into it. The reality is that that would hurt a lot.
      It’s become much greener thanks to the rain we had a few days ago. The birds love the trees a lot because they are too tall for the cats to reach. It is funny to see the silly cats jump up in the air though.

      Like

  2. Grandma Nancy August 20, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    Hi, we love your blog and have nominated you for the Sweetest Blog Award. If you would like to accept the award and see what you have to do next follow this link to our site for the Super Sweet Blogger Award rules; http://rezichfamilykitchen.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/thank-you-super-sweet-blogging-award/

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 24, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

      Hi Nancy, I’m sorry it took me so long to respond. I’ve been feeling under the weather lately but today I’m almost back to speed. Thank you for nominating me. I am happy to accept. I’m still putting together a list of names for the last award I received so I need to finish that first but I’m halfway done so with any luck, and if I don’t get distracted, I’ll have your award up today too. Thanks again!

      Like

  3. seamistandmagnolias August 20, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    Love your butterfly photo, and the Austrian pine would make a perfect Christmas tree!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 20, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

      Thank you. It would. I wouldn’t have the heart to cut it down though.

      Like

  4. claudiagiulia August 17, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    Wow, those trees are beautiful!

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 404 other followers

