Photos of My Garden – Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme

26 Jul

This is my “mystery” tomato plant. I now know why the tomato seedlings were on sale at the beginning of the season. All the other seedlings were cherry tomatoes. This one is a Bush tomato plant. How do I know? I know because I planted Bush tomatoes a few summers ago. They are beautiful to look at, juicy, and totally tasteless. You can see my cherry tomatoes in the background.

On the right are my onion chives (or scallions). See the round bulb at the top? It’s ready to flower and go to seed. I’ve got onion chives growing all over my garden. I allow it because they are a pest deterrent and it keeps me “rich” in onions.

I must say, knock on wood, everything in the garden is healthy. So far, I don’t see any pests. They probably all died of thirst or heat stroke. I did find a snake in my garden once. It was a green garden snake and it was dead. That wasn’t in my present garden though, it was when I lived in Lexington, KY.  However, if you want to read a story I wrote about a rattlesnake, click here.

After I watered the garden today, a butterfly flew up to me as if to say “thank you.” ; – )

This is the final installment (IV) of My Vegetable Garden, unless something pops up that I think you might enjoy. I want to try growing artichokes in the future because I am a big fan of them. I need to order them in the mail I think since it’s probably too late to find seeds in the supermarket. Hope you all enjoyed my garden as much as I do.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

9 Responses to “Photos of My Garden – Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme”

  1. playfulmeanderings July 27, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Tell me about basil. We have some growing in the yard. Do I trim off the blossoms? Do I harvest one leaf at a time or a whole stem?

    • Marcella Rousseau July 28, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

      If your basil is blossoming, that might be due to the heat. You really only want the leaves, not the blossoms. For most fruit-producing plants, the more you pick, the more they produce. You harvest however much you need. I usually take my herbs by the entire stem. This is in case I don’t use it all the day I pick it. That way, the leaves I don’t use will still get some nourishment from the stem. I wrap the leftover in plastic wrap and put it in the fridge. You have to be careful with basil. It bruises easily. It’s very fragrant and good with a lot of Italian dishes. What dish do you plan to create with it?

      • playfulmeanderings July 30, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

        As newbie gardners, we have two plants — much more than we need because they are both loving the heat. Based on your recommendation, I cut back the blossoms and harvested some of the stems. I froze some and used some in a delicious quiche. We’ll make some tomato sauce soon with from our three tomato plants. Peppers are also coming along fine. This has been a fun summer!

        • Marcella Rousseau August 2, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

          I picked a bunch of everything but my parsley last week, put it in a plastic bag in the fridge and it all looks just as fresh as when I picked it. I had pasta with the sage last night and today I had salmon with rosemary, capers, lemon, and white wine. The rosemary was great with the fish. It’s the first time I tried rosemary and fish. Gardening is fun! I’m glad you’re having fun with it ; – )

  2. linda adelaide July 26, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    i think nothing tastes as good as the cherry tomato but any home-grown tomato trumps store-bought and so i do hope you enjoy him when you get some. we planted so late, i am not sure but here we harvest tomatoes into December sometimes, if it’s not too wet! ;)

    • Marcella Rousseau July 28, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

      Wow! December! I think I’ve gone as late as October but when I picked them, they were all green. I had to pick them because we were going to get a freeze.Or, maybe it was November? All I know is that I had to pick them.

  3. Staci Troilo July 26, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    Well, at least the tomatoes look good! Enjoy the bounties while you have them. Too soon it’ll be February and we’ll be wanting anything fresh.

    • Marcella Rousseau July 26, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

      Oh, you’re talking about the Bush tomatoes. Yes, they are attractive. They’re passable in a salad or a burger, but they’re not tasty like the cherry tomatoes. I’m not getting much of a harvest this year. It’s too hot and there’s too little rain. Maybe August will be better. I seem to remember August being a better month for my garden. How is your garden going?

      • Staci Troilo July 27, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

        We didn’t even get one put in this year, so I’m at the mercy of farmer’s markets and grocery stores.

        On the tomato front, take heart. We teased my dad mercilessly for years because he never even got a red tomato until August. (He’s since started greenhousing seeds in the basement around February so he could get an early start. He picked his first red one of this season this past week. In short, August is a good tomato month.)

What is your take on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

