Photos of My Garden – Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme

21 Jul

On the right is my parsley plant. It is three years old.  It comes back every year even though they say it isn’t supposed to (It’s a biennial). I find that when I leave things alone and let them go to seed, they reward me by continuing to appear every year.

My rosemary, below, sits next to my sage plant. You can see some of the leaves of the sage plant on the lower left of the photo. I do tend to cram everything together. Fresh rosemary is the bomb. As long as I have fresh, I will never use the dried stuff again.  

If you want to learn more about my herbs, click here.  Continued…….

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

6 Responses to “Photos of My Garden – Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme”

  1. Peri's Spice Ladle August 29, 2012 at 12:13 am #

    These are a few of my favorite herbs! In addition to be being a favorite song…a great way to use all the excess sage is to take the big leaves and lay them on a sheet pan with olive oil, salt and pepper…and just put them in the oven till slightly crisp, they make a great snack:)

    Love your garden! My thyme always struggles while hardy rosemary goes out of control:)

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau August 29, 2012 at 12:27 am #

      I heard that some like to fry the sage leaves. I’m going to try the baking recipe you suggested. I’ve got so much sage I could feed the entire block and then some. I’ve got the opposite problem, my thyme is out of control and my rosemary is my puniest plant. Even my Italian parsley is doing better than my rosemary. However, the rosemary is the most delicious herb in the garden. As for the song, I swear I didn’t buy those specific herbs just so I could have a good title for my blog! LOL!

      Like

      • Peri's Spice Ladle August 29, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

        Ha ha…I’m sure you didn’t! They are just the herbs that get thought off together…I’m with you on Rosemary, just so versatile, it works with everything!

        Like

  2. silverbells2012 July 21, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    By coincidence, you’ve answered a question I had been asking myself about whether or not my parsely would last more than one year. Hopefully, I will have much luck as you!

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau July 21, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

      I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you! Did you grow it by seed yourself or did you buy a seedling?

      Like

      • silverbells2012 July 21, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

        My neighbour gave me some seeds. They were being given away with butter, so my guess is they won’t self-seed, but you never know! Anyway, thank you.

        Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

