Good Health and Good Gardening Go Together

28 Jun

I have been a vegetable gardener for many years. It seems that no matter how much you plan in the garden, something unexpected always comes up! (Literally!)

For example, I purchased some tomato seedlings at a local store this Spring and I thought I was buying cherry tomatoes. It turned out that four of the plants were cherry tomatoes but one was a different kind of tomato plant. The tomatoes are medium size and I have no idea what they are! Don’t you just love surprises? I can’t wait to bite into one of them.

My garden this year is doing well considering the drought and heat wave we are having and I have been good about watering it every other day or so.

If you’ve never grown a vegetable garden or herb garden before, you may want to give it a try. I offer some tips for someone who wants an easy garden with not much effort.

Having your own vegetable garden provides you with the freshest produce and highest vitamin and mineral content which is better for your health, not to mention that you will be getting good exercise and sunshine which provides Vitamin D. Make sure you wear sunscreen though to protect your skin.

I enjoy the butterflies, the bees, and sometimes the hummingbirds who frequent my garden. Gardening has so many benefits. I hope you try a garden today, even if you just have a small area by a windowsill. Give it a try!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

35 Responses to “Good Health and Good Gardening Go Together”

  1. SoundEagle August 25, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    I love tomatoes, and I consume cherry tomatoes as others would consume lollies. It is a great pity that tomatoes are getting very expensive where I live.

    • Marcella Rousseau August 25, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

      LOL, yes I eat them like a snack too. Mine haven’t done too well with this hot weather. They are doing better this month though. They are getting expensive in my neck of the woods too. Everything is! How much are they where you live?

      • SoundEagle August 25, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

        It could easily be $8/kg or more. Some varieties cost much more. Add at least one third to twice or even more for those grown organically.

        • Marcella Rousseau August 25, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

          How does $8/kg translate into US dollars? Do you know? Yes, organic anything here costs more too.

          • SoundEagle August 25, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

            At the moment the conversion rate is about the same for both countries.

        • Marcella Rousseau August 25, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

          At my favorite supermarket they are $1.29 lb. The Roma tomatoes sometimes go on sale for $.99 lb. However, some supermarkets charge $1.49 lb. for tomatoes.

          • SoundEagle August 25, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

            1kg = 2.2lb. So $8/kg = $3.64/lb. It is clear that our price here is at least two to three times more expensive than your price there. Now I am green with envy . . . .

            • Marcella Rousseau August 25, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

              My understanding is that food prices are lower here in Indiana than in most places of the country. Housing is very reasonable too. Wages however are not comparable which is why you hear the expression “brain drain.” College graduates move to other better paying states. Still green? Wow! I had no idea food costs would be so high in Australia! I considered moving there 20 years ago.

              • SoundEagle August 25, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

                Hi Marcy,

                I had to had my breakfast and now I’m back to reply to your comments.

                Yes, food prices can be quite high here. Some are due to seasonal variations, others to agricultural, social, economic and/or geopolitical factors, or to natural disasters such as flooding, droughts, cyclones and so on.

      • SoundEagle August 25, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

        I also realise that nutritionists have recommended eating tomatoes cooked rather than raw because cooking actually increases the amount of nutrition in tomatoes that can be extracted or absorbed by the human body.

        • Marcella Rousseau August 25, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

          Yes, I think it’s the Lycopene that increases.

          • SoundEagle August 25, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

            Yes, plus some other nutrients too because more of the cell walls in tomatoes are broken by the processes or results of cooking, thus making more nutrients available to us. :)

            • Marcella Rousseau August 25, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

              Interesting. I don’t think there are many foods like that! But cooking would kill the Vitamin C in them. So, if you want that vitamin then you’re better off eating them raw. I like them both ways.

              • SoundEagle August 25, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

                Yes, the tomato is one of the exceptions, according to food scientists and nutritionists. After all, cooked tomatoes are regularly eaten in the Mediterranean diet.

              • Marcella Rousseau August 25, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

                I’m no stranger to the Mediterranean diet. I grew up on it ; – )

              • SoundEagle August 25, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

                Your health and longevity are in good hand/diet. :)

              • Marcella Rousseau August 25, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

                Lol. Thanks for the confirmation. I like to think so! : – )

              • SoundEagle August 25, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

                Hi Marcy,

                From your writing on the Super Sweet Award, I suppose that the Super Sweet Award has already been conferred on the 13 blogs, including mine.

                Could you please kindly explain the third rule: Nominate a “Baker’s Dozen (13) blogs”? Am I supposed to nominate one from the 13 bloggers?

                I shall construct a new page to be listed under my “About” page at pottedplantsociety.wordpress.com in order to answer those questions and satisfy the rules.

    • Marcella Rousseau August 25, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      I see that you reblogged my post “Good Health and Good Gardening Go Together.” This is a first for me. Where did you reblog it?

  2. silverbells2012 July 16, 2012 at 7:08 am #

    Yes, it is very true that with gardening you might be surprised by the unexpected! I have already had one batch of potatoes which I never planted… or rather there were the remains of last seasons potaotes that I didn’t realise were still in the ground/kitchen remains that I had put directly into the ground as fertiliser.

    • Marcella Rousseau July 17, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

      I think the biggest surprise I ever got was the one corn plant I had. I never planted corn but I live across the street from a cornfield!

  3. babso2you July 1, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    Nice article. My tomatoes are from a mixed pack of seeds. I do know that they are heirloom, but I call them my mystery tomatoes because I do not know what I have until they ripen! Thanks for the like on my blog!

    • babso2you July 1, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

      Thanks again for signing up to follow my blog too!

    • Marcella Rousseau July 12, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      You’re welcome! My cherry tomatoes turned out to be very good – very flavorful. My mystery tomato plant turned out to be perfect-looking tomatoes but with no flavor. Well, you can’t win them all!

  4. claudiagiulia June 29, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    I am a notoriously awful gardener but even I can muster a tomato plant and no salad is more satisfying that the one made with my very own tomatoes. Now I need to expand to more than tomatoes, herbs and a few fruit trees!

    • Marcella Rousseau June 29, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

      Yes, I would love to have fruit trees too. I have the space for it but I wouldn’t know how to combat the bird problem and I don’t have the energy to deal with them. Maybe it’s not as bad as i think? I’m not familiar with fruit trees and I also don’t see any around my neighborhood which makes me wonder. I do see pear and apple trees for sale in the gardening sections of stores though. I never had much problem growing herbs. You should do it – you’ll like it.

      • claudiagiulia June 29, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

        I found my fruit trees on the property and lemons and tangerines don’t seem to attract birds but the apricots, that’s another matter – and I choose not to spray pesticides. It’s a fight between me and them as to who gets there faster!

  5. thefishwifey June 29, 2012 at 8:12 am #

    Planting an herb garden got lost on the bottom of my to do list. Thanks for the reminder!

    • Marcella Rousseau June 29, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

      You’re welcome! Sorry I haven’t been visiting lately. I’ve been very busy, gee, what’s the word……beautifying my blog. Well great! My article should be helpful to you. In fact, yesterday I went out there and picked a little bit of everything and put it in a pot of chicken soup. (except for the tomatoes.) It was good! LOL.

      • cathsveggies1 July 2, 2012 at 11:58 am #

        I have also started doing that too…a little bit of this and that. It is truly scrumptious soup.
        Thank you for liking my blog too,Marcella.

    • Marcella Rousseau June 29, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

      Actually, thank you for reminding ME to come visit your blog. The Follow >Reader thing just isn’t working for me. I need to get into the habit of signing up for the emails.

  6. jessegarden June 29, 2012 at 12:34 am #

    Thanks for sharing, Jesse

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 7 Posts From My Blog « For Your Good Health - October 7, 2012

    [...] 5. Most Surprisingly Successful -Good Health and Good Gardening Go Together [...]

What is your take on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers