What You Eat Today, Walks and Talks Tomorrow

27 Jun

I come from an Italian-American family. My parents were born here; so was I and my two sisters. My mother’s parents came from Bari, Italy which is a city in the southern part of Italy or the heel of the boot. My father’s parents came from Arzignano, Italy which is a city in between Verona and Venice, Italy.

Consequently, I learned to cook a variety of Italian dishes. When I married and left home, I began to experiment with other cuisines. I always liked cooking, baking too. I’m addicted to cooking shows and cookbooks and cooking and baking DVDs! I never get tired of the stuff! My ears perk up when I hear about a new recipe or something I’ve never tried.

One winter I decided to make all my own bread. I didn’t buy a single loaf of bread at the supermarket. Rye bread, whole wheat bread, French bread, oatmeal bread, it was all so good slathered in butter.

I’ve made all kinds of rolls, pizzas, pies, cakes, soft pretzels, jelly rolls, butter cookies, ginger snaps, spice puffs, I mean really, who can remember it all? There isn’t much I haven’t tried. But for the most part, I’m not a sweets eater. I made cookies for when my son was little. Now that he’s an adult, I don’t make them anymore. Besides, he’s more of a health nut than I am. Not that he would turn down my cookies if I made them!

I grew up on the authentic Mediterranean diet. Vegetables and legumes were a big part of my diet. My mother always used to say, “What you eat today, walks and talks tomorrow.” This turned out to be true as I’m sure you know. If you eat that second piece of chocolate cake, you’re going to notice it when you put your pants on tomorrow. Maybe Michelle Obama should adopt my mother’s phrase. I think the slogan could help curb the obesity problem we have in this country.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

3 Responses to “What You Eat Today, Walks and Talks Tomorrow”

  1. sandy September 28, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    I agree, as good as it tastes, a person does not need two cake helpings. I am aim at the Mediterranean diet, but do indulge in bread a bit much.

    • Marcella Rousseau September 28, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

      I love bread also, especially if it is bakery bread or homemade bread. Someone once asked Jacques Pepin what his favorite food was and he responded, “Bread and butter.”! Do you really indulge too much? Bread tends to make you full and your stomach expand due to the yeast. I just wonder how much is too much for you. Bread is considered a grain and grains are important to eat everyday. Maybe you’re not “guilty as charged” ; – )

  2. Staci Troilo July 21, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    I love your mother’s philosophy. We can all learn from that.

What is your take on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers