Are You Drinking Water?

21 Jun

When you work out, it’s important to drink enough water. You should be drinking water before you exercise, during your exercise, and after you exercise. It’s disturbing how few people I see in health clubs drinking water. I feel like I’m the only one guzzling away. Please don’t make me feel isolated! Drink with me!

Experts from WebMD say:

  • One to two hours before your workout, drink 15 to 20 ounces of water
  • 15 minutes before you begin, drink between 8 and 10 ounces of water
  • During your workout, drink another 8 ounces every 15 minutes.

Not drinking enough water can lead to these ailments that I have written about in another post.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

5 Responses to “Are You Drinking Water?”

  1. Susan T's Kitchen July 25, 2012 at 1:00 am #

    Marcella, I am a big time water drinker. I keep a cooler of water in my car. Always at the gym I must have water.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau July 25, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

      I am happy to hear that Susan! It’s smart to keep a cooler of water in your car, especially in this triple-digit temperature we’ve been having. Good for you!

      Like

  2. Eugene Erwin June 25, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    I never drink any water, unless it is coffee or tea. I cannot bring myself to drink water unless it is heated first. I just feel that the chlorine evaporates and it is safer. That is unless I am home where I have an inline filter under my kitchen sink.

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau June 26, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      I always drink water from my Brita Pitcher. I carry a bottle of water with me almost everywhere I go and it’s water filtered from my pitcher. I drink decaf coffee and tea once in a while but I stay away from them because they stain my teeth.It’s especially important to drink non-caffeinated fluids during this hot weather and whenever exercising. Caffeine and tea are diuretics.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top Reasons to Drink Water When Exercising | For Your Good Health - October 7, 2014

    […] water. It’s ironic that these exercise enthusiasts are sweating to attain good health yet not drinking enough water while exercising can ultimately give them kidney […]

    Like

What are your thoughts on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 412 other followers