How to Find Your Target Heart Rate; and What it is!

20 Jun

When I was taking aerobics classes at my health club, the instructor would always have us check our pulse to see where it was and to match it with the chart hanging on the wall. Mine was always off the chart. I never really knew what we were doing or if I should be worried that mine wasn’t listed.

I never felt sick or dizzy but I would be breathing hard.

I don’t take aerobic classes anymore but I use an elliptical trainer (machine) that shows a digital display with readouts for speed, mileage, time, calories, and handle hand sensors for my heart rate.

Usually, with these types of machines, on the left side of the display is a graphic with a caption that says Target Zones or something like that. This elliptical trainer has 65% and 85% columns corresponding with age.

I never got that. Do they expect you to do math while you’re sweating bullets? I can’t do math, especially percentages, when I’m standing still or even sitting down! So, are you supposed to keep a calculator in the little book or drink holders that they provide? No. I finally got around to figuring out the answer. I will share that answer with you right here.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

5 Responses to “How to Find Your Target Heart Rate; and What it is!”

  1. Marcella Rousseau July 15, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    They finally published my article. (I think they forgot about it. I had to remind them.) Anyway, I hope it makes sense.

    Like

  2. movingonmyown June 30, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Usually those machines will take your heartrate (or you can do it yourself). You can find your target heartrate and know to stay within that range. Here’s a link to a simply WebMD target heartrate calculator! Hope that helped! http://www.webmd.com/fitness-exercise/healthtool-target-heart-rate-calculator

    Like

    • Marcella Rousseau June 30, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

      You’re very sweet to want to help and I appreciate the effort. I’ve already written the article about how to do it and included a calculator. I’m just waiting for the editors to approve it. They’ve had it about 10 days now so I’m hoping pretty soon!!! Once it’s approved and published, then I will link to my blog post. I never should have posted this before the article was approved. I won’t be doing that again : – )

      Like

What is your take on this post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 346 other followers